The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 18, 2007, 10:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump
[/B]It wouldn't be different, the ball is in fair territory in both the OP and the example. You are correct, however, the ball's status of fair or foul must be rendered by the immediate contact of the batter standing in the batter's box. In the 2006 BRD, Mr. Carl Childress writes that this is a "Point not covered" in OBR. Therefore, I won't look to find the OBR equivalent to FED Rules I quote below. I do know that the "out" would be treated like a runner being hit by a live batted ball over fair territory. In this case, since it is the BR, he would not be awarded 1B.

Here is the FED interp for both an Out or a Foul Ball.
FED 8.4.1 The BR is out when:
d. after hitting or bunting a ball, he intentionally contacts the ball with the bat a second time in fair or foul territory. The ball is dead and no runner(s) advance.
Note: In the case of a foul ball, it must have a chance to become fair in the umpire's judgment.

Exception: If the bat and ball accidently come in contact with each other a second time while the batter is holding the bat in the batter's box, it is a foul ball.

BRD 101 ALSO: If the batted ball hits the batter while he has no foot entirely outside of the batter's box, the ball is foul unless the umpire judges the batter interefered deiberately. (8.4.1b)
{although technically, Carl should mean (8.4.1d Note)}

In 2006 BRD 101 and BRD 102, the only difference is 'foul if "accidently" in one sitch' and 'out if "deliberately" in another.' Please, let's not turn this into "Are the hands are part of the bat?" discussion. The batter's box provides protection immediately. It would be different, if the bat in the batter's hand accidently contacts the ball while the batter is running toward 1B. Then rule 8.4.1d would apply.
Thanks for the detailed explanation.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Good Call / Bad Call whiskers_ump Softball 29 Fri Mar 28, 2003 09:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1