![]() |
|
|||
Your Missing the Exception to FED Rule
Quote:
Here is the FED interp for both an Out or a Foul Ball. FED 8.4.1 The BR is out when: d. after hitting or bunting a ball, he intentionally contacts the ball with the bat a second time in fair or foul territory. The ball is dead and no runner(s) advance. Note: In the case of a foul ball, it must have a chance to become fair in the umpire's judgment. Exception: If the bat and ball accidently come in contact with each other a second time while the batter is holding the bat in the batter's box, it is a foul ball. BRD 101 ALSO: If the batted ball hits the batter while he has no foot entirely outside of the batter's box, the ball is foul unless the umpire judges the batter interefered deiberately. (8.4.1b) {although technically, Carl should mean (8.4.1d Note)} In 2006 BRD 101 and BRD 102, the only difference is 'foul if "accidently" in one sitch' and 'out if "deliberately" in another.' Please, let's not turn this into "Are the hands are part of the bat?" discussion. The batter's box provides protection immediately. It would be different, if the bat in the batter's hand accidently contacts the ball while the batter is running toward 1B. Then rule 8.4.1d would apply. Last edited by SAump; Mon Jun 18, 2007 at 10:10pm. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
The right call or the correct call? | Nevadaref | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am |
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |
Good Call / Bad Call | whiskers_ump | Softball | 29 | Fri Mar 28, 2003 09:35am |