The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 15
Thanks for the reply.
I did protest before the next pitch and it was recorded. The ump told me after the game that it's a judgement call and can not be protested. I said it's a rules infraction and can be but I wasn't planning on following thru with it. He said he'd talk to our UIC about it but I'll believe it when I see it. I wrote the UIC and informed him of the situation but if I don't hear from him soon I'll go thru with the protest. I figured they would call a balk but they refused to believe the move is legal and when I showed him the letter from the UIC he read it then asked me how many umpire meetings (implying I'm clueless). My reply was "apparently more than you", lol. We did try the move once before and our UIC was the umpire. He didn't call a balk and the opposing team didn't argue. I guess the UIC isn't sharing info.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
At what point did your player throw to the base. I'm having a hard time visualizing how a pitcher who is facing the plate can "unmistakingly" step towards a base.

Did he start his windup (pivot foot remaining, other foot comes off, then kicks into the air, and then to the base)? Obvious balk.

Or was he righty that brought the hands together and somehow twisted his body directly towards first?

Again, I have a hard time seeing how this pitcher couldn't commit to the plate while throwing to a base. Perhaps the umpire saw some sort of commitment during the move (does the step need to be less than 45 degrees?), which would be judgement.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
At what point did your player throw to the base. I'm having a hard time visualizing how a pitcher who is facing the plate can "unmistakingly" step towards a base.

Did he start his windup (pivot foot remaining, other foot comes off, then kicks into the air, and then to the base)? Obvious balk.

Or was he righty that brought the hands together and somehow twisted his body directly towards first?

Again, I have a hard time seeing how this pitcher couldn't commit to the plate while throwing to a base. Perhaps the umpire saw some sort of commitment during the move (does the step need to be less than 45 degrees?), which would be judgement.
Assuming RHP:
On the rubber, hands together; lifts non-pivot foot and steps more toward 1st than home [beyond 45 degrees, if you like], then separates hands and throws - no balk [except in FED].
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 10:55am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
At what point did your player throw to the base. I'm having a hard time visualizing how a pitcher who is facing the plate can "unmistakingly" step towards a base.

Did he start his windup (pivot foot remaining, other foot comes off, then kicks into the air, and then to the base)? Obvious balk.

Or was he righty that brought the hands together and somehow twisted his body directly towards first?

Again, I have a hard time seeing how this pitcher couldn't commit to the plate while throwing to a base. Perhaps the umpire saw some sort of commitment during the move (does the step need to be less than 45 degrees?), which would be judgement.
He was just standing on the rubber with his hands together, and had not started his motion according to the OP. A pitcher most certainly can step and throw to a base from this position. Once the pitcher begins his pitching motion, he is committed to pitch the ball from the windup. Prior to this he may legally deceive the runner by stepping and throwing to a base. Some coaches think that all deception is a balk, when deception is not necessarily illegal.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
Understood SDS. Assuming RHP, I'm just having a hard time visualizing this. I am beginning to see it.

My point was that it is (or could it be?) possible that the pitcher committed himself to the plate during this pickoff move (didn't step directly to the base comes to mind). Obviously a RHP from the windup can't lift his non-pivot foot, step directly to the plate, and then submarine to first.

Perhaps this is what the umpire saw (although not as blatant), which would be judgement and wouldn't be heard in a protest. For me, I'd have to be there to see if this move is legal or not because I'm having a hard time visualizing it, and I haven't seen the move during any of my games.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
Understood SDS. Assuming RHP, I'm just having a hard time visualizing this. I am beginning to see it.

My point was that it is (or could it be?) possible that the pitcher committed himself to the plate during this pickoff move (didn't step directly to the base comes to mind). Obviously a RHP from the windup can't lift his non-pivot foot, step directly to the plate, and then submarine to first.

Perhaps this is what the umpire saw (although not as blatant), which would be judgement and wouldn't be heard in a protest. For me, I'd have to be there to see if this move is legal or not because I'm having a hard time visualizing it, and I haven't seen the move during any of my games.
Right away the ump blamed the balk call on a failure to disengage. He doesn't have to. The he said he'd balk him again "for standing on the rubber with his hands together". He claimed that is deceiving the runner. It's legal to pitch from the windup at anytime, even with runners on so how is he deceiving the runner. He never stated that he started his pitching motion because he didn't. To visualize it act like your on the rubber then simply step toward your left shoulder with your toes pointing towards 1st. His foot never went back and his toes pointed directly at the base as he stepped.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by grogdog
Right away the ump blamed the balk call on a failure to disengage. He doesn't have to. The he said he'd balk him again "for standing on the rubber with his hands together". He claimed that is deceiving the runner. It's legal to pitch from the windup at anytime, even with runners on so how is he deceiving the runner. He never stated that he started his pitching motion because he didn't. To visualize it act like your on the rubber then simply step toward your left shoulder with your toes pointing towards 1st. His foot never went back and his toes pointed directly at the base as he stepped.
It seems that a lot of umpires think that bringing the hands together IS the start of the pitching motion. But it's not--without some other motion naturally associated with the pitch, bringing the hands together does not in itself commit the pitcher to deliver to home.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by celebur
It seems that a lot of umpires think that bringing the hands together IS the start of the pitching motion. But it's not--without some other motion naturally associated with the pitch, bringing the hands together does not in itself commit the pitcher to deliver to home.
In FED, bringing the hands together is the start of the pitching motion if the pitcher engaged the rubber with both hands at his sides. I know this is an OBR discussion, but that may be where the confusion lies.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 12, 2007, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern OH
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by grogdog
Right away the ump blamed the balk call on a failure to disengage. .
As noted earlier, this could simply be a Fed umpire not knowing the OBR and Fed difference.



Quote:
Originally Posted by grogdog
The he said he'd balk him again "for standing on the rubber with his hands together". He claimed that is deceiving the runner. .

Misinterpretation of the rules aside..

Classic case of talking too much. He must be a student of Joe Wolf
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windup BigUmp56 Baseball 5 Thu Apr 27, 2006 08:47am
Windup Position ranger71 Baseball 14 Tue Feb 21, 2006 05:29am
LEGAL WINDUP? mg43 Softball 5 Tue Apr 12, 2005 11:41am
Windup in FED Cubbies87 Baseball 9 Mon Jul 26, 2004 10:55pm
Windup position LDUB Baseball 5 Sun Jun 13, 2004 11:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1