Thanks for the reply.
I did protest before the next pitch and it was recorded. The ump told me after the game that it's a judgement call and can not be protested. I said it's a rules infraction and can be but I wasn't planning on following thru with it. He said he'd talk to our UIC about it but I'll believe it when I see it. I wrote the UIC and informed him of the situation but if I don't hear from him soon I'll go thru with the protest. I figured they would call a balk but they refused to believe the move is legal and when I showed him the letter from the UIC he read it then asked me how many umpire meetings (implying I'm clueless). My reply was "apparently more than you", lol. We did try the move once before and our UIC was the umpire. He didn't call a balk and the opposing team didn't argue. I guess the UIC isn't sharing info.
|