Understood SDS. Assuming RHP, I'm just having a hard time visualizing this. I am beginning to see it.
My point was that it is (or could it be?) possible that the pitcher committed himself to the plate during this pickoff move (didn't step directly to the base comes to mind). Obviously a RHP from the windup can't lift his non-pivot foot, step directly to the plate, and then submarine to first.
Perhaps this is what the umpire saw (although not as blatant), which would be judgement and wouldn't be heard in a protest. For me, I'd have to be there to see if this move is legal or not because I'm having a hard time visualizing it, and I haven't seen the move during any of my games.
|