The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 11:44am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Obstruction2

R2 - 0 out - OBR

Runner gets in a rundown between 2B and 3B.

Runner is obstructed by F6 in going back to 2B slips, falls, and doesn't get back.

Obstruction is called on F6...does the runner simply get to return to 2B or is he awarded 3B? OBR ruling.

PBUC manual on page 45 states: "Furthermore, the obstructed runner shall be awarded at least one base beyond his last legally touched base at the time of the obstruction." How is this interpreted?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

johnnyg,

In OBR, obstruction on a runner who is in a rundown is always considered "Type A" Obstruction, and, therefore, the runner is awarded one base beyond his position at the time of Obstruction.

In your sitch, the R2 gets 3B.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 01:33pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
okay thanks...
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 01:43pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Let's look at another way...if this was FED...I don't think that there is a Type 2 OBS...so would the runner always get another base??
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

johnnyg,

FED does not distinguish between Type A (obstructed runner being played upon) and Type B (obstructed runner not being played upon) Obstruction and the obstructed runner is ALWAYS awarded at least one base beyond his position at the time of obstruction.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 11, 2007, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJM
johnnyg,

FED does not distinguish between Type A (obstructed runner being played upon) and Type B (obstructed runner not being played upon) Obstruction and the obstructed runner is ALWAYS awarded at least one base beyond his position at the time of obstruction.

JM
EXCEPT [according to the Rules lecture this year] for certain weird TWP-like circumstances where R gets where he would have got absent the OBS, so's we ignore the OBS [OK, I'm obviously paraphrasing here]. Only example ever given was R1 is obstructed coming back to 1st on a run-down, but nevertheless is safe on 1st: do not award 2d, 'cause R1 reached the base he would have reached, absent the obstruction.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1