![]() |
|
|||
Advance on Base on Balls
I'm sure I've read this a hundred times:
6.08 The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when -- (a) Four “balls” have been called by the umpire; Rule 6.08(a) Comment: A batter who is entitled to first base because of a base on balls must go to first base and touch the base before other base runners are forced to advance. This applies when bases are full and applies when a substitute runner is put into the game. Does this imply that until the BR touches first the other runners are not forced and thus must remain on their TOP bases? If the runners leave early are they in danger of being tagged out? I've never seen that situation occur where all of the runners waited until the previous runner "forced" them off the base. Opinions, Comments?? |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
inadvertant base on balls | archer | Softball | 16 | Thu Apr 26, 2007 02:43pm |
base on balls | ump14 | Baseball | 2 | Sun Jul 23, 2006 08:03am |
Little League 9-10 yr old - Base runner hit by batted ball... Do runners advance? | mike miles | Baseball | 2 | Thu Jul 21, 2005 08:46am |
Failing to advance or Abandoning a base | Dakota | Softball | 28 | Fri Jun 25, 2004 09:19am |
base on balls | twhidd | Baseball | 6 | Tue Apr 20, 2004 07:27pm |