View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 11:02am
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibear
I'm sure I've read this a hundred times:

6.08
The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when --
(a) Four “balls” have been called by the umpire;
Rule 6.08(a) Comment: A batter who is entitled to first base because of a base on balls must go to first base and touch the base before other base runners are forced to advance. This applies when bases are full and applies when a substitute runner is put into the game.

Does this imply that until the BR touches first the other runners are not forced and thus must remain on their TOP bases? If the runners leave early are they in danger of being tagged out?

I've never seen that situation occur where all of the runners waited until the previous runner "forced" them off the base.

Opinions, Comments??


GET REAL!!!
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote