The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 04, 2007, 06:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweet
My question is, does R2 get 3rd? Because the rule says he does if he is forced to advance, which he was when the ball was hit, but the force was removed when it touched R1 so which timing do we go by???
It's not a timing issue. If you read the rule (7.08f), you'll notice that the complete phrase is "nor may any runner advance, unless forced to advance." On runner interference, the ball is dead immediately, so the initial force play cannot be a factor in placing the runners.

The question is then whether the award to BR forces a runner to advance. In your situation, it does not force R2 to advance. Waltjp's case illustrates how the award works (though he doesn't explain the principle behind it).
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What they want called, and what is called (Strike Zone again!) FUBLUE Softball 30 Tue May 13, 2008 05:14am
Two different plays harmbu Baseball 11 Wed May 02, 2007 12:54pm
3 Plays UmpJM Football 23 Tue Oct 03, 2006 08:24am
Does any one know who he plays for ? kade Rugby 0 Wed Jul 12, 2006 07:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1