![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Play: R1 and less than two outs Ground ball to F4 who flips to F6 covering second base. F6 touches the base and moves 3 or 4 steps past the base towards right field. Retired R1 slides two feet to the right field side of the base, does not contact F6 or alter the play. According the the NFHS Baseball Illustrated Rules (sometimes called the 'comic book') this is a violation of the FPSR and the double play shall be called. No alteration and no contact but it is an illegal slide and therefore penalized. What's the difference between his post and mine - no contact and no altering the play, but his scenario shows INT. Your post and his are not consistent. According to Tim C, any illegal slide on a FPSR situation is by definition INT. According to 2-32-2a, a popup slide into a fielder is illegal - this is what the OP stated. This infers that there is contact. The rule doesn't specify how severe the contact must be. Tim C situation is 2-32-2f. If his situation is INT, the popup slide HAS to be int, regardless of the fact of contact or altering the play. If there's a difference, please clue me in because I have read this thread over and over. The only possible thing I can think of is that Tim C is incorrect, and so far no one has shown any inclination in that direction. Or maybe I'm in a fog this morning because I haven't had enough coffee. ![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Force Play? | rsteele | Baseball | 20 | Tue Jan 11, 2005 08:04am |
Force Out Play | jggilliam | Softball | 9 | Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:01am |
Force Play? | Lapopez | Baseball | 78 | Mon Jul 26, 2004 11:15am |
Force Play | brandda | Baseball | 1 | Sun May 19, 2002 01:17am |
Third out without a force play | collinb | Softball | 5 | Thu May 03, 2001 03:17pm |