The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 18, 2007, 06:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wa.
Posts: 198
I actually had a instructor (thank goodness it was FP, and it was incorrect for FP as well) tell us once, "in this situation the runner cannot return, and if they try, just tell em hey you can't do that". Doh!

Just don't confuse "they can't" with they are not allowed too. They really can, it just won't protect em from the appeal.
__________________
SLAS
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 19, 2007, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to charliej47 Send a message via MSN to charliej47 Send a message via Yahoo to charliej47
If I read this correctly, the runner had not touched 2nd base "at the time of the release". We have a "dead ball situation". The runner is awarded 2 bases. He goes to 3rd base and his coach tells him he has to go "touch 1st" before coming to 3rd and he does. ALL OF THIS HAPPENED WHILE THE BALL IS DEAD!

IF this is what happened and I understand what was said, then the runner did go back and touch 1st base and then proceeded to touch second and then stop on 3rd base, people I got nothing. Let's play ball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 19, 2007, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

charlie,

It would appear you have read the situation correctly.

Like you, "I got nothin" - until the defense appeals the R1's failure to legally retouch 1B on the catch. Then, I got an "OUT!".

JM

P.S. Good choice of screen name.
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 19, 2007, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to charliej47 Send a message via MSN to charliej47 Send a message via Yahoo to charliej47
I will say this again because now I'm getting confused. If he had touched 2nd base "at the time of release" and a legal appeal is made, I have an out. Because once you are "on or past your next base" and the ball goes dead then you can not legally go back and can be appealed. This is the point I am making. He was not there, therefore he could go back and touch. That's why I've got nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 19, 2007, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliej47
If I read this correctly, the runner had not touched 2nd base "at the time of the release". We have a "dead ball situation". The runner is awarded 2 bases. He goes to 3rd base and his coach tells him he has to go "touch 1st" before coming to 3rd and he does. ALL OF THIS HAPPENED WHILE THE BALL IS DEAD!

IF this is what happened and I understand what was said, then the runner did go back and touch 1st base and then proceeded to touch second and then stop on 3rd base, people I got nothing. Let's play ball.

Charlie & JM

He touched second after the ball went dead and before he went back to touch first.

The touch of second killed his ability to legally go back and retouch first.

He is subject to being called out on appeal EVEN IF he then goes back and touches first.


And Charlie - it's not "time of release" - it's when the ball enters DBT.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 19, 2007, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to charliej47 Send a message via MSN to charliej47 Send a message via Yahoo to charliej47
Rich, it is always "time of release". look at 7.05(g) APPROVED RULING:

IT is always the time-of-play, time-of-release, time-of-pitch, time-of-touch that determines what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 19, 2007, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliej47
Rich, it is always "time of release". look at 7.05(g) APPROVED RULING:

IT is always the time-of-play, time-of-release, time-of-pitch, time-of-touch that determines what happens.
"Charlie" it is, then.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 19, 2007, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to charliej47 Send a message via MSN to charliej47 Send a message via Yahoo to charliej47
The runner can be standing on 3rd base. and F6 throws the ball out of play while throwing it to F3. If the runner goes back and touches 1st base and I award him 2 bases on the over-throw. there is still nothing. Let's play 7.05(i)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 19, 2007, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliej47
Rich, it is always "time of release". look at 7.05(g) APPROVED RULING:

IT is always the time-of-play, time-of-release, time-of-pitch, time-of-touch that determines what happens.
Nice try Charlie - wrong rule.

7.10(b) APPROVED RULING: (2) When the ball is dead, no runner may return to touch a missed base or one he has left after he has advanced to and touched a base beyond the missed base.


"When the ball is dead . . " . When does it become dead? When it enters DBT.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 19, 2007, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to charliej47 Send a message via MSN to charliej47 Send a message via Yahoo to charliej47
Sorry I got carried away, that is true about my comment of him standing on 3rd or having touched second. Once he touches 2nd, even if he goes back, he would be subject to appeal, but it would still be "time-of-release" that determines when the ball goes out of play.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 19, 2007, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to charliej47 Send a message via MSN to charliej47 Send a message via Yahoo to charliej47
Once the ball is dead. this will be determined when it "goes out of play" the determination will be determined from the "time of release" no runner can advance. So, he can not touch 2nd even if he does and goes all the way to 3rd that was what I was trying to say.

I would had said "Dead ball 2-base award". Now if the coach sent him back to 1st for the re-touch, it would have been a smart coach. Anything else, I would have waited for an appeal or the next pitch. Let's play.

Last edited by charliej47; Sat May 19, 2007 at 01:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 19, 2007, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliej47
Once the ball is dead. this will be determined when it "goes out of play" the determination will be determined from the "time of release" no runner can advance. So, he can not touch 2nd even if he does and goes all the way to 3rd that was what I was trying to say.
Are you from Canada?
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
25 seconds left Nyjets Football 10 Wed Sep 13, 2006 10:47am
Left Out To Dry tmp44 Basketball 8 Wed Feb 02, 2005 09:00am
No Coach Left... champ Basketball 24 Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:55pm
"All But One" .....official left .....what wii you do ? James Neil Football 46 Mon Dec 30, 2002 12:45pm
One player left drinkeii Basketball 6 Wed Nov 28, 2001 03:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1