The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 11:44pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
IIRC, Vina stepped into the basepath to attempt a tag on (I'm thinking Ortiz but could be wrong). He had already fielded the ball and was attempting a play. In our original situation, the pitcher had not yet lost his "fielding a batted ball" protection, whereas Vina had.

Plus, we are not talking pro baseball here. As you know, they play by an entirely different set of contact rules than the amateurs do.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 18, 2007, 07:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
IIRC, Vina stepped into the basepath to attempt a tag on (I'm thinking Ortiz but could be wrong). He had already fielded the ball and was attempting a play. In our original situation, the pitcher had not yet lost his "fielding a batted ball" protection, whereas Vina had.

Plus, we are not talking pro baseball here. As you know, they play by an entirely different set of contact rules than the amateurs do.
Albert Belle was the runner in question and he was suspended for the contact.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 18, 2007, 12:56pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Yeah that's right, Belle. I remember now. I knew it was some gigantic player.

But the play itself stood. No interference. He was suspended for the viscous contact.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 18, 2007, 02:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
While I think I tend to agree that the pitcher was still fielding the ball and that interference should have been called for that reason, I think too often umpires call interference in Fed when the fielder dives at the runner and initiates the contact, saying that the runner had an obligation to attempt to avoid the contact.

I think we have to look at how the contact developed and whether the runner has a reasonable chance to anticipate where the contact is likely to occur. For the most part a sudden dive or lunge by a catcher cannot be anticipated and I have a hard time faulting the runner for not being able to react to it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 18, 2007, 06:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Northern California
Posts: 477
Send a message via AIM to nickrego
Everyone has made some valid points, and it is interesting they way the wind shifted direction by the second page of responses.

This type of situation is definitely, "had to be there", material.

Personally, I have always protected the fielder on a direct path to field the ball, and at the point where they are fielding the ball. But if their momentum carries them past that point of fielding the ball, I haven't protected them. And it this situation, that is what happened. I mean, how far do you allow the fielder past the point of fielding the ball, protection ?
__________________
Have Great Games !

Nick
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 18, 2007, 06:55pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickrego
I mean, how far do you allow the fielder past the point of fielding the ball, protection ?
Until he regains control over his momentum, and makes a new and separate move. If the pitcher exhibits body control, and then tries a tag, he is not protected, as in the Vina/Belle play. Vina was blocking Belle's baseline in an attempt to get a cheap double play, and Belle said "nope." He just hit Vina a little hard, that's all!
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 19, 2007, 02:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Northern California
Posts: 477
Send a message via AIM to nickrego
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Until he regains control over his momentum, and makes a new and separate move.
So, lets say F6 is playing deep, and runs hard forward to scoop up a low rolling grounder, well behind the runner's path, and his momentum takes him 3 or 4 additional steps into the path of a runner, who crashes into him. You're going to have the fielder protected for all those extra steps ?

I never would think to do that.

And to take it further, if the fielder never attempts to make a tag, because he still does not have control of his momentum when he collides with the runner, couldn't that be considered Obstruction ? Although, that would be a tough call to sell, since the fielder does have the ball.

I am actually pretty serious about learning how far to protect the fielder. I am sure this will come up again in the future for me.
__________________
Have Great Games !

Nick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No-call train wreck? mplagrow Basketball 21 Sat Feb 11, 2006 09:36pm
Train Wrecks whiskers_ump Softball 16 Thu Mar 03, 2005 02:48pm
Train wreck gone? WestMichBlue Softball 13 Thu Feb 17, 2005 04:10pm
Train Wrecks whiskers_ump Softball 8 Fri May 21, 2004 12:22pm
How to quickly train officials Back In The Saddle Basketball 23 Fri Jan 02, 2004 09:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1