![]() |
|
|
|||
Protests ....
Quote:
So as far as protest, the only thing the defense can protest is the run scored? Just wondering if that is correct. Thank goodness we don't have to worry about protests etc., Thanks David |
|
|||
My opinion:
Since the *rule* relating to interference wasn't protested, it becomes (or remains) a judgment call, and the call stands. So, the *rule* on the run scoring after an interference call can be protested. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Given the umpires explanation, would you not agree that he misapplied the rule about the ball getting by the fielder, regardless if he actually touched the ball at all and that the interference call is protestable? The umpire didn't state there was another fielder who could have made a play. His argument was that because the fielder never touched the ball the first time, he still had a chance. Only the first chance by a fielder matters. Once it gets by, only a second fielder with a chance factors into the situation. FED 8-4-2k k. is contacted by a fair batted ball before it touches an infielder, or after it passes any infielder, except the pitcher, and the umpire is convinced that another infielder has a play (5-1-1f, 6-1-5). The text in red doesn't apply. Text in blue applies, but the text in lime doesn't. So, the umpire has misapplied the rules, has he not? I would protest the interference also, because of the misapplication of 8-4-2k. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Official ruling from Umpire interpreter:
1. Umpires wrongly called R2 out for Interference 2. Once ball went by F6 and stuck R2, with no other fielder able to make a play, the touching of the ball by R2 should have been ignored, allowing R3 to score - as was allowed at the time of the play. 3. So, if called correctly, R3 run scores - as it did at the tme of the play - so protest is dropped. Looks like the Ump Interpreter lumped the entire sequence of plays together. Interesting! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Catcher’s Limits | Antonella | Softball | 38 | Tue Oct 10, 2006 09:24am |
Age limits?? | Nate1224hoops | Basketball | 5 | Fri Mar 03, 2006 03:30pm |
The Nature and Limits of a Fumble | assignmentmaker | Basketball | 9 | Wed Feb 08, 2006 03:37pm |
time limits | bethsdad | Softball | 17 | Tue Dec 23, 2003 04:50pm |
Verbals out of Limits | Ref Daddy | Basketball | 31 | Tue Oct 22, 2002 11:42pm |