The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   FPSR violation or good play? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/34299-fpsr-violation-good-play.html)

ranger71 Sun May 06, 2007 08:58am

FPSR violation or good play?
 
Fed rules, r1, one out. ground ball to f4 who throws to f6 coming across bag. f6 clearly on 2b side of bag (both feet on dirt) when r1 sliding directly into bag makes contact with right leg. r1 sliding with legs spread.

BigUmp56 Sun May 06, 2007 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ranger71
Fed rules, r1, one out. ground ball to f4 who throws to f6 coming across bag. f6 clearly on 2b side of bag (both feet on dirt) when r1 sliding directly into bag makes contact with right leg. r1 sliding with legs spread.


If the runner's legs were spread on the slide (something I'm not sure I've ever seen) it doesn't sound like he slid directly into the bag. You haven't said whether or not the contact was sufficient to actually alter the play.


Tim.

waltjp Sun May 06, 2007 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ranger71
Fed rules, r1, one out. ground ball to f4 who throws to f6 coming across bag. f6 clearly on 2b side of bag (both feet on dirt) when r1 sliding directly into bag makes contact with right leg. r1 sliding with legs spread.

FED Rule 2-32

Art 2 A slide is illegal if:

d. The runner slashes or kicks the fielder with either leg


Sounds illegal to me.

GarthB Sun May 06, 2007 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ranger71
Fed rules, r1, one out. ground ball to f4 who throws to f6 coming across bag. f6 clearly on 2b side of bag (both feet on dirt) when r1 sliding directly into bag makes contact with right leg. r1 sliding with legs spread.


Exactly where is the 2B side of 2B?

RPatrino Sun May 06, 2007 12:17pm

Ranger, please be more clear for us!! Where is F6 actually standing? What actually did R1 do with his legs? You mention R1 slid directly into 2b, but with his legs flailing at F6?

ranger71 Sun May 06, 2007 03:24pm

F6 came across the bag to the outside (1b side) and cleared the bag. F6 was on dirt when R1 slid directly into the bag knocking F6 to the ground with his right foot. R1 slid with legs apart, foot not kicking, slashing, flailing, etc.

LMan Sun May 06, 2007 04:04pm

Was the fielder on the 1B-2B 'baseline?'

ranger71 Sun May 06, 2007 05:42pm

F6 was to the right field side of the bag, not in the baseline.

cbfoulds Sun May 06, 2007 07:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
If F6 wasn't on the bag, sounds like a FPSR violation to me for illegal contact.

If R1 was:
sliding
directly into the bag
not kicking, slashing, etc
AND F6 was "on the 1st base side of 2d"
I find it hard to imagine how there could be a FPSR violation; but I confess I remain a little unclear what R1 was doing that prompted the OP.

bluezebra Sun May 06, 2007 07:18pm

Was the fielder on the 1B-2B 'baseline?'

There is no 'baseline' between 1B-2B, or 2B-3B. It's 'base path'.

Bob

RPatrino Sun May 06, 2007 08:27pm

Bottom line ( not path), if the runner slides directly into a base, and doesn't go out of his/her way to initiate contact, then I have nothing.

Dave Reed Sun May 06, 2007 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bluezebra

There is no 'baseline' between 1B-2B, or 2B-3B. It's 'base path'.

Bob

You're by no means the only poster who repeats this canard. But the fact is that OBR has only one occurrence of the letter sequence "path", and it is not in conjunction with the word "base".

On the other hand, "baseline" is used frequently, and not always as a synonym for "foul line". Specifically the definition of the infield fly, and rule 7.08(a) use "baseline" while referring to the spaces between 1B-2B and 2B-3B.

Anyway, what's wrong with the word "baseline"?

BigUmp56 Sun May 06, 2007 09:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Reed

Anyway, what's wrong with the word "baseline"?

Dave,

I think using the term "baseline" perpetuates the myth that a runner must run in a direct line between the bases. This especially holds true when applying 7.08(a) where it does say "baseline", but we as officials know it should be phrased as "basepath" to avoid confusion.


Tim.

jicecone Sun May 06, 2007 09:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ranger71
F6 came across the bag to the outside (1b side) and cleared the bag. F6 was on dirt when R1 slid directly into the bag knocking F6 to the ground with his right foot. R1 slid with legs apart, foot not kicking, slashing, flailing, etc.

I got two outs, and a SS that needs coaching on how to take a relay throw at second without getting his legs chopped off.

LMan Sun May 06, 2007 09:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bluezebra
Was the fielder on the 1B-2B 'baseline?'

There is no 'baseline' between 1B-2B, or 2B-3B. It's 'base path'.

Bob


OK, was the fielder 'located on the direct xxx between 1B and 2B?'.

I'm getting at RPatrino's point, but I guess subtlety doesn't fly.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1