![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Figures it's a SB game
If this was a BB game I got the BR out.
When the ball went dead, the BR has not moved. Therefore she/he abandoned their attempt to get to 1B. Out, Out, Out. You can't place her on 1B. He is in a force play situation here. Out, out, out You could also use the "god rule" in rule 10 to make this call, since we want to punish the offending team to the maximum extent of the law. In this case, who did wrong? The BR did, so out, out, out. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
You also don't want to use the "god rule" to punish teams, or for almost any other reason.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Where is the abandonement rule in OBR...I can't find it on MLB.com...where is the rule in FED? Rule book is out in the car...thanks guys
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Bob |
|
|||
|
This cannot be batter's interference. He is now a BR. From the J/R.
Section I: Batter Interference Interference by a batter occurs exclusively in relationship to the catcher or the catcher's throw and only when the batter does not become a batter-runner. Here we have a batter-runner that's disregarded his attempt to reach his advance base safely. Again from the J/R. Section II: Runner Interference B. Thrown Ball It is interference by a runner on a thrown ball only if such runner: 1. commits an intentional action to interfere that disregards his try to get to a base safely, and 2. such action hinders a fielder trying to throw or trying to tag. When runner or batter-runner interference occurs, the ball is dead. Section III NOTE: Apart from being outside the 45-foot lane, a Batter-Runner can only interfere on a thrown ball if his action is intentional and hinders a fielder. Similarly, a strike three where a batter becomes a runner is treated as a thrown ball situation, and such Batter-Runner can only interfere subject to the dictates of Section II, Subsection B, of this chapter. Section IV: Penalizing Runner and Batter-Runner; Interference and Placing Other Runners A. Penalization A runner who interferes is declared out unless, as a result of preceding action, he is already out, then the other runner being played against is declared out. If no other runner is being played against, "weak" interference applies; that is, the ball is dead and runners must remain at their last legally touched base. So in this play the BR is out and all other runners are returned to their last legally touched base. Tim. Last edited by BigUmp56; Sun May 06, 2007 at 03:52am. |
|
|||
|
Sort Defense of Call, Sorry
I have a long day ahead, so I will have to brief....
1. In this case, the PU has ruled the runner out for Batter's interference at home plate, even though he is now a BR. 2. Then the ball becomes dead because of the Interference, right? 3. The BR did not move from the batters box, right? Since we agree on all of these things, what has the BR done on this play? A. He/She Struck Out. B. Caused interference because they did not try to go to 1B as is their right on this play (dropped 3rd strike). A Dead Ball does not allow the BR to advance, does it? No. So while Abandonment may be the wrong word to use here, since it has a technical meaning in the Baseball rules, the BR gave himself/herself up when they stayed in the box interfereing with the play. If you follow J/R's logic here, then you have given the offense a huge advantage in the play, because they can interfere without penalty. Also, J/R assumes the BR will try to get on base, which this person is not doing. How can you not call the BR out? The dead ball by definition does not allow her/him any chance to advance, and there is no reason why their rights were violated by the defense so they can be awarded 1st base. I can't see how the batter can be anything but out on the play. Last edited by jkumpire; Sun May 06, 2007 at 04:20am. |
|
|||
|
Let's change the play slightly -- R3, squeeze play, ball bunted to F3. R3 falls down 1/2 way to the plate. BR sees this and interferes with F3's attempt to throw to the plate.
I have BR out, R3 returning. I don't see how the original play is different. In FED, you might be able to get two outs because with BR still in the box, the defense could get R3 out and then get BR out. |
|
|||
|
I incline toward Tim here. Upon strike 3, batter is now a batter-runner, so he's out, return R3 to 3B. There's no 'time limit' on how long it takes the B/R to move toward 1B, so I can't see 'desertion' here.
If it were the same sitch except NOT strike 3, then its BI, batter remains at bat, R3 out. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
This way, the offense is punished by virtue of not scoring that RISP, and having one more out. After all, it was an uncaught third strike, and a passed ball. It's not like it was the offense's fault this occurred, it was the defenses mistake. To turn this around from your point of view, you could say "why are we punishing the offense for the defenses error?" As has already been mentioned, there is no time limit for the B-R to run to first base. Let's just say for the hell of it that there was no interference. Then all the defense would have to do is tag the B-R, or throw it to first base for the put-out. He can stand at home plate as long as he wants if nobody plays on him. Eventually, a member of the defense will realize that he's not out yet.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Thank You
I appreciate the reply Steve.....
But, the BR interfered with a play that caused the ball to become dead. Because the ball is dead he can't go to 1B. So how is he not out? He caused the INF, 2 are not out, so R3 is by rule out on the INF right? If you don't call it this way, then you give the offense an extra out. There is no situation in the rule book that matches it, since everyone assumes the BR is trying to do something to not be out ont he play. In this play, the BR is giving herself up to try and help the runner score. I can grasp what you are saying, I just think your applying the rules the wrong way. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Check out rule 4. Runners do not have ALL DAY to advance. They have what is termed a reasonable opportunity to advance. Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Tough call for me today | DTQ_Blue | Softball | 6 | Sat May 05, 2007 08:55pm |
| Tough Obstruction No-call | turk | Softball | 11 | Mon Jun 30, 2003 04:45pm |
| Tough call at a tough time in a tough game... | dhodges007 | Basketball | 18 | Wed Aug 01, 2001 11:44am |
| Tough Call | Paul LeBoutillier | Basketball | 27 | Wed Feb 28, 2001 01:25am |
| Tough Call | Rookie | Basketball | 9 | Mon Jan 29, 2001 01:58pm |