The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: At the base of the mountains
Posts: 377
As I recall, Evans say's he is out. Use 6.08A

.....If in advancing, the base runner thinks there is a play and he slides past the base before or after touching it he may be put out by the fielder tagging him. If he fails to touch the base to which he is entitled and attempts to advance beyond that base he may be put out by tagging him or the base he missed.
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by justanotherblue
As I recall, Evans say's he is out. Use 6.08A

.....If in advancing, the base runner thinks there is a play and he slides past the base before or after touching it he may be put out by the fielder tagging him. If he fails to touch the base to which he is entitled and attempts to advance beyond that base he may be put out by tagging him or the base he missed.
As I said, that was the JEA and MLB position prior to 2001. The JEA has not been updated and MLBUM no longer agrees with that interpretation. There is no bigger fan of Jim than me, but his opinion in this matter no longer is accepted by MLB.

Neither portion of your quote is applicable to a BOB batter/runner simply touching and overrunning first and not attempting to advance.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 05:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: At the base of the mountains
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarthB
As I said, that was the JEA and MLB position prior to 2001. The JEA has not been updated and MLBUM no longer agrees with that interpretation. There is no bigger fan of Jim than me, but his opinion in this matter no longer is accepted by MLB.

Neither portion of your quote is applicable to a BOB batter/runner simply touching and overrunning first and not attempting to advance.
As of O6 this was how he was teaching it. If you have another source, could you send me a link or send me in the direction that I can read this. Nothing personnal but I would like to be able to read and see it for myself not just hear it.
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 06:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by justanotherblue
As of O6 this was how he was teaching it. If you have another source, could you send me a link or send me in the direction that I can read this. Nothing personnal but I would like to be able to read and see it for myself not just hear it.
San Diego Steve quoted the MLB Umpire Manual.

If you have a copy of the current J/R it's in there too.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 07:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: At the base of the mountains
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
San Diego Steve quoted the MLB Umpire Manual.

If you have a copy of the current J/R it's in there too.

Well there ya go. My J/R is several years old and has it if he feints toward second, he's out. As for the MLBUM... I'd love to have one, how can I get my hands on one? That's the million dollar question.
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 07:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by justanotherblue
Well there ya go. My J/R is several years old and has it if he feints toward second, he's out. As for the MLBUM... I'd love to have one, how can I get my hands on one? That's the million dollar question.
An overrun and a feint to second are two different animals.

He's still out of he feints then gets tagged while off the base.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
In Little ball, the standard play is to throw the ball to the F3 on a BOB. If the BR steps off 1b, or over runs 1b, the F3 tags him. Now, knowing the ball is in the F3's glove should clue the BR in to stay on the bag. In this situation, I don't have an out, the BR was not attempting to advance.

However, if he over runs 1b and just stands off the base, adjusting himself, I do have an out if he is tagged. He didn't return immediately to 1b after over running it.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 01:01pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPatrino
However, if he over runs 1b and just stands off the base, adjusting himself, I do have an out if he is tagged.
And if he adjusts himself more than three times, he's playing with it.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
He's probably the F1 who has been slobbering all over the ball , too.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overrun 1st on ball 4? JJ Baseball 35 Sun Feb 19, 2006 02:34pm
Overrun first; feint to second umpyre007 Baseball 15 Tue Feb 27, 2001 01:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1