The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
Overrun First on BOB

I know this has been asked many times already and in OBR the batter/runner is entitled to overrun first without liability to be put on, as long as no attempt for second.

Had the following question on umpire quiz with OBR rules:

The leadoff man walks. After ball four, the catcher returns the ball to the pitcher who starts walking around the mound in disgust. Meanwhile the runner reaches first and then walks off the base a few steps, bends to pull up his socks. The pitcher then fires to the first baseman who tags the runner. Is the runner out?

I said no, the answer key said yes and the clinician said the BOB was an award so that meant that the runner was entitled to first and nothing more.

As indicated earlier, I've found many earlier threads which indicate the runner is save but would like rule references to send to the clinician.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 08:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibear
I know this has been asked many times already and in OBR the batter/runner is entitled to overrun first without liability to be put on, as long as no attempt for second.

Had the following question on umpire quiz with OBR rules:

The leadoff man walks. After ball four, the catcher returns the ball to the pitcher who starts walking around the mound in disgust. Meanwhile the runner reaches first and then walks off the base a few steps, bends to pull up his socks. The pitcher then fires to the first baseman who tags the runner. Is the runner out?

I said no, the answer key said yes and the clinician said the BOB was an award so that meant that the runner was entitled to first and nothing more.

As indicated earlier, I've found many earlier threads which indicate the runner is save but would like rule references to send to the clinician.

Thanks
THere's a difference between "overruning a base" and "stepping (or walking) off".
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 08:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
THere's a difference between "overruning a base" and "stepping (or walking) off".
I agree with you and the answer in this case is probably the runner is out.

However, what is the response to the base award rather then a hit. i.e. since the BOB is an award the BR cannot run through first without liability of being put out.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
THere's a difference between "overruning a base" and "stepping (or walking) off".
Indeed; but on an overrun of first stemming from a walk...

I ought to make this the next one in my "You Make the Call" column, Bob, because this little scenario has drawn conflicting rulings for quite some time. I don't have Evans's Annotated Rules in front of me, but IIRC, he says one thing while the OBR interp. says another. Now I've forced myself to research this for the umpteenth time.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
In OBR, the BR on a BOB may over-run first and return immediately without liability. He/She must make an attempt to advance to second in order to be putout. The BR can turn left, right, or run straight through the bag, it makes no difference, provided they make NO attempt to advance.

In FED, there is no such protection, and can be put out if they overrun first on a BOB.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
In OBR, the BR on a BOB may over-run first and return immediately without liability. He/She must make an attempt to advance to second in order to be putout. The BR can turn left, right, or run straight through the bag, it makes no difference, provided they make NO attempt to advance.

In FED, there is no such protection, and can be put out if they overrun first on a BOB.


True. But in OBR, if the BR gets a BOB, trots down to 1B, stops, and then steps past the bag, he hasn't overrun. He has simply walked off the bag and is liable to be tagged out. I admit that if he kept walking past the bag and then returned, I'd consider that an "overrun" (or an "overwalk"). It's a HTBT. But the BR has no automatic protection simply because his physical position is somewhere down the 1B line.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPatrino
In OBR, the BR on a BOB may over-run first and return immediately without liability. He/She must make an attempt to advance to second in order to be putout. The BR can turn left, right, or run straight through the bag, it makes no difference, provided they make NO attempt to advance.

In FED, there is no such protection, and can be put out if they overrun first on a BOB.
FYI, under all levels of Williamsport Baseball, a batter who overruns first on a walk is out if tagged. (Andy Konyar explanation to me on a phone call many moons ago.)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
What is the response to the clinician's answer that since a BOB is a base award it is treated differently than a base hit and the runner is protected only up to the base and nothing further? Remembering it is OBR rules.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: York County, Maine
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP25
FYI, under all levels of Williamsport Baseball, a batter who overruns first on a walk is out if tagged. (Andy Konyar explanation to me on a phone call many moons ago.)
UMP25, it must have been many moons ago because it sure is OK to overrun 1B on a walk now, as long as the runner returns immediately. Even says so in the 2007 R.I.M. ( I know that not everyone has a copy, I just got lucky).
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP25
FYI, under all levels of Williamsport Baseball, a batter who overruns first on a walk is out if tagged. (Andy Konyar explanation to me on a phone call many moons ago.)

That's flat out wrong. The LL case book "The Right Call" says it's OK.

Don't confuse stepping off and overrunnung.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overrun 1st on ball 4? JJ Baseball 35 Sun Feb 19, 2006 02:34pm
Overrun first; feint to second umpyre007 Baseball 15 Tue Feb 27, 2001 01:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1