The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
In OBR, the BR on a BOB may over-run first and return immediately without liability. He/She must make an attempt to advance to second in order to be putout. The BR can turn left, right, or run straight through the bag, it makes no difference, provided they make NO attempt to advance.

In FED, there is no such protection, and can be put out if they overrun first on a BOB.


True. But in OBR, if the BR gets a BOB, trots down to 1B, stops, and then steps past the bag, he hasn't overrun. He has simply walked off the bag and is liable to be tagged out. I admit that if he kept walking past the bag and then returned, I'd consider that an "overrun" (or an "overwalk"). It's a HTBT. But the BR has no automatic protection simply because his physical position is somewhere down the 1B line.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overrun 1st on ball 4? JJ Baseball 35 Sun Feb 19, 2006 02:34pm
Overrun first; feint to second umpyre007 Baseball 15 Tue Feb 27, 2001 01:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1