The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 07, 2007, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 301
Cece Carlucci - video Quiz

Just found this after talking to Cece, might wanna view.

http://www.pe.com/sharedcontent/Vide...2635&catId=293
__________________
3apps

"It isn't enough for an umpire merely to know what he's doing. He has to look as though he know what he's doing too." - National League Umpire Larry Goetz

"Boys, I'm one of those umpires that misses 'em every once in a while so if it's close, you'd better hit it."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 07, 2007, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
He seems like a gem of a man. Tim Christensen once told me about spending long hours on the phone with Mr. Carlucci discussing baseball while ordering his CP. I'm not so sure I want a Carlucci protector, but I'd sure love to sit down with him and chew the fat for a while. Maybe an interview with Cece placed on the paid side would be an attractive idea. I'm sure one of the writers here would love to do that interview.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 07, 2007, 11:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 45
Smile

I was sorry it ended so soon. If he ever made a 2 hour video with about a hundred of those cool little stories, I'd buy it. He seems like a great guy. One of those people you could listen to all day.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 08, 2007, 08:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
I think CC might be incorrect on his 2nd play ruling according to the MLBUM:

8-21-03 @ WUA Site — When a live ball enters a player's uniform or the catcher's gear, the ball
is to be ruled dead and no subsequent outs can be obtained by the defense. The umpire is then
directed to employ common sense and fairness and place the runners such that the act of the ball
becoming dead is nullified. The umpire may not, however, enforce any outs that he thinks may
have occurred had the ball remained live. Outs occurring before the ball went out of play stand.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 08, 2007, 08:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72
I think CC might be incorrect on his 2nd play ruling according to the MLBUM:

8-21-03 @ WUA Site When a live ball enters a player's uniform or the catcher's gear, the ball
is to be ruled dead and no subsequent outs can be obtained by the defense. The umpire is then
directed to employ common sense and fairness and place the runners such that the act of the ball
becoming dead is nullified. The umpire may not, however, enforce any outs that he thinks may
have occurred had the ball remained live. Outs occurring before the ball went out of play stand.
I have a feeling that he made his ruling loooong before the WUA issued that interpretation.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 08, 2007, 08:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Doublecheck that

Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72
I think CC might be incorrect on his 2nd play ruling according to the MLBUM:

8-21-03 @ WUA Site When a live ball enters a player's uniform or the catcher's gear, the ball
is to be ruled dead and no subsequent outs can be obtained by the defense. The umpire is then
directed to employ common sense and fairness and place the runners such that the act of the ball
becoming dead is nullified. The umpire may not, however, enforce any outs that he thinks may
have occurred had the ball remained live. Outs occurring before the ball went out of play stand.
The ball entered the runner's back pocket and CC ruled all runners get 2 base award from TOI. The runner was between 2B and 3B when it happened. The runner then continued home with the ball trapped in his back pocket.
Probably the same rulebook interpretation on a ball thrown into DBT from the outfield or a 2nd play made in the infield.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 08, 2007, 08:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
I have a feeling that he made his ruling loooong before the WUA issued that interpretation.


Tim.

Same here!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carlucci Gear for sale on E-Bay! MajorDave Baseball 2 Mon Mar 19, 2007 06:14pm
Carlucci btdt Baseball 1 Tue Mar 06, 2007 03:55pm
Does anyone know about Cece Carlucci jkumpire Baseball 8 Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:15am
Cece Carlucci PFISTO Baseball 1 Thu Sep 28, 2006 11:01am
Carlucci chest protector bellsjc Baseball 10 Fri May 20, 2005 04:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1