![]() |
|
|||
Bases Loaded Walk...
Bases are loaded and the batter walks, forcing in a run. However, the runner coming in from third does not touch home plate and heads toward the dugout. His coaches get his attention before he reaches the dugout and he hurries back toward the plate to tag it but he is first tagged with the ball.
Since the runner was forced in by the walk, does he remain safe to return to the plate and tag it or would he be out? At what point would his protection due to the force end? Since he was forced in because of the walk it seems unlikely he could be called out. Even though he missed the plate, he did return to tag it, and the fact that the other team tagged him would by moot since he was forced home. I realize that at any other base, the same situation could result in an out. Say the runner was forced to second on a walk, failed to touch second and advanced toward third. He could be put out. The difference here is that at home plate there is no other base to advance to. A note I read to rule 7.04 indicated that a runner's exemption ends if he fails to touch a base before attempting to advance. Since he could not advance further than home plate, the question is whether his exemption expires once he takes a step beyond it or not. Any opinions on the situation? |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Bases Loaded... | mrm21711 | Baseball | 5 | Mon May 29, 2006 05:09pm |
Bases loaded appeal results | Leecedar | Softball | 6 | Sun Dec 05, 2004 06:41pm |
Base on Balls Bases Loaded | For the kids | Softball | 18 | Wed Jun 30, 2004 09:44am |
Missing base after bases loaded home run | Hearls3 | Baseball | 1 | Tue Dec 23, 2003 05:56pm |
bases loaded dropped third strike | zebraman55 | Softball | 2 | Fri Jun 08, 2001 12:49pm |