The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2007, 08:30am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
Getting 2B is the correct call. The batter (and other runners) get two bases from their position at the time of the pitch when the first throw by an infielder goes out of play.
Rich,

You are rarely inaccurate, so this surprised me. You meant to say "first PLAY" rather than first throw, right?

--Rich
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2007, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
Rich,

You are rarely inaccurate, so this surprised me. You meant to say "first PLAY" rather than first throw, right?

--Rich
He probably meant that, but when an infielder throws to retire a runner, the throw is the first play.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2007, 08:50am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP25
He probably meant that, but when an infielder throws to retire a runner, the throw is the first play.
Unless he makes a legitimate tag attempt on another runner.

I know I'm being pedantic. It's early and I haven't had any coffee.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2007, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Except that no one ever mentioned a tag attempt. Now we're just making things more complicated for the lad.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2007, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP25
Except that no one ever mentioned a tag attempt.

I do note, however, that no one has yet addressed the clear interference by the runner advancing from 2B.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2007, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMan
I do note, however, that no one has yet addressed the clear interference by the runner advancing from 2B.
Good point. And we've completely neglected the ball coming in from the other field, and the bucket knocked over rolling between third and home. And ... of course ... what type of shinguard PU was wearing, and how he felt about that shinguard.;
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2007, 10:10am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Good point. And we've completely neglected the ball coming in from the other field, and the bucket knocked over rolling between third and home. And ... of course ... what type of shinguard PU was wearing, and how he felt about that shinguard.;
I'm more interested in knowing how the shinguard felt.

Well, this is fun, but I gots a game this afternoon and a 2 hour drive to get there.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2007, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
Rich,

You are rarely inaccurate, so this surprised me. You meant to say "first PLAY" rather than first throw, right?

--Rich
Interesting observation.

In OBR the rule refers to first play, but this question was about a JV game (FED).

8-3-5 refers to the first play but the awards table (Two bases item 5) it says "first throw by an infielder . . ." so I just picked "throw".
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2007, 09:46am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
Interesting observation.

In OBR the rule refers to first play, but this question was about a JV game (FED).

8-3-5 refers to the first play but the awards table (Two bases item 5) it says "first throw by an infielder . . ." so I just picked "throw".
FED inconsistent? Big surprise there.

I wasn't trying to complicate the original play, either, UMP25. I just wanted to point out that once F6 lunges forward to try to tag R2 running by the award basis changes (although the actual award may very well be the same).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in MidMadness Basketball 11 Mon Nov 13, 2006 09:41pm
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
oob and throw in shont Basketball 2 Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:11am
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
throw in Dibbs Basketball 34 Wed Jan 10, 2001 12:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1