The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 02, 2001, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
As I see it, the difference in what is being discussed here deals with first determinng if the obstruction is Type A or Type B. That, in itself, determines whether you are allowed to consider the results of a throw made after the time of obstruction.

In Type A obstruction, the infraction occurs after or at the same time as a throw is being made on the runner. Therefore, the throw "is committed to" by the defense at the time of obstruction. It is part of the playing action. Other than that throw, nothing thereafter is considered part of playing action---including a "late", errant throw subsequently attempted. Since with Type A we are to kill the ball immediately, we are also now allowed to accept any result of the throw that would benefit the offense. Meaning, since the throw was made before or during the time of the obstruction, the umpire may include the result of the throw in his determination of the award. If the ball is in the air at time of obstruction and later is determined to be errant (goes to DBT or in play away from any fielders), the umpire may include that fact in his determination of the award---awarding MORE than the required one base per rule.

OTH, if a play is in progress on a Type A obstructed runner(perhaps a runner in a rundown), but the release of the throw is after the obstruction has occurred, then the result of the throw is irrelevant and not considered in any award, and the award is only the required one base.

Type B obstruction allows for the concept of a ball being thrown after the obstruction whereby that throw IS considered. Suppose BR is obstructed after he rounded 1B and while progressing to 2nd. You may only be protecting him to 2B. The ball is close to, but has not yet reached F8 who is fielding it in the left center field gap. BR is close to 2B when F8 makes his throw toward 3B to stop BR's further advancement. The throw is misplayed and enters the dugout.

Rather than awarding the BR 2 bases from his location at TOT, the umpire may consider the fact that BR would have been to 2nd base at TOT had it not been for the obstruction. Therefore, he may award 2 bases to BR (the award for throw going into DBT) based on where BR would have been had it not been for the obstruction---thereby sending BR to home on a ball entering DBT.

I note, however, that I could only see this happening on a Type B obstruction since it would be the only time a throw would be considered if made after the time of obstruction.

Just my opinion,

Freix

BTW, Eric, CMT stands for "comment"
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1