![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Umpires are reminded that if a runner is obstructed under this second section of the obstruction rule, play is to proceed to completion even if it results in a play later being made on the runner who was previously obstructed [my emphasis}. However, if such a play on a previously obstructed runner results in that runner actually being tagged out before reaching the base to which he would have been awarded because of the obstruction, the umpire shall in that case call "Time" at the moment the runner is tagged out. While the NAPBL seems to specifically state that a Type B obstructed runner being later tagged out would be cause to kill play, it does not specify that a runner played on who is safe, or even a runner played on and caught in a rundown would be cause to kill the play. They seem very emphatic with their own bolding so as to assure umpires know on a Type B obstructed runner NOT to kill the ball unless the runner is tagged out. Carl, this would seem to agree with DA's position regarding the mechanic on a Type B obstructed runner---kill it only if played upon and tagged out---even if in a rundown, wait until he is tagged out to kill the play. While you in the past have seemed to emphasize the need to accept official interpretation, your position of killing the play at anytime an obstructed runner is played upon seems incongruent with the official interpretation of the NAPBL. Is there any official interpretation that supersedes what is written in the NAPBL?? What are we missing here? Are we attempting to override official interpretation? Is this one worth a question to PBUC?? Just my opinion, Freix [Edited by Bfair on Dec 1st, 2001 at 04:05 AM] |
Bookmarks |
|
|