![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I return to OP
Quote:
Quote:
Is it proper for only 1 runner to be out and/or occupy 3B in this situation? Did R3 lose his right to occupy 3B when caught in a rundown between 3B and Home? Does R2 acquire the right to advance to a proper unoccupied 3B by Rule 8-2-7? Edited to delete: {I would not punish R2 for the baserunning mistakes made by R3.} I would properly declare R3 out. Last edit to bold words in OP and to state that R2 would legally remain on 3B. Last edited by SAump; Wed Mar 14, 2007 at 11:14am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
R2 made the baserunning mistake by advancing to a base occupied by a preceeding runner. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
R3 wasn't forced, therefore it's his base unitl he legally touches the next base. R2 being there doesn't change that. If R2 and R3 are touching at the same time, R2 is out when tagged. No ifs, ands, buts, shouldas, or wouldas about it.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The point of the original poster (a point I obviously disagree with, but it is the point that is actually under discussion) was that in a sitch like this, has R2 - who has obtained 3rd base - actually passed R3, who is in left field by a few steps. I still say no ... but this contention is the point under discussion. And if they are right, then R2 is out before any tag attempt on R3 even starts. (In response to what you've said, though, and at the risk of creating yet ANOTHER side conversation ... R3 is not out until he's either tagged, or runs out of the baseline to avoid a tag attempt. And R3 is not out if F5 tags him while he's on the base (which you seem to say, and did ACTUALLY say in a separate post). Falling over the base, by itself, is not enough to call him out. Not sure if that's what you meant to imply, but that's the way I read it.)
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Picture just R3. He gets caught in a rundown, is running from the catcher, gets to the bag and can't stop. He can certainly run back toward 2nd. You're not going to call him out the moment he takes a step toward 2nd, are you?
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Since he's not touching the bag, and he's not between scoring and third, where is he? That's why I think R2 should be out, he has advanced to a point on the basepaths closer to scoring than R3.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman Last edited by ctblu40; Wed Mar 14, 2007 at 02:16pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman |
|
|||
|
Anyone want Rick Roder's ruling?
I just received an e-mail back from Mr. Roder with an answer to this question... interested?
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman |
|
|||
|
Quote:
How was he confusing the defense (not you, the defense)? How was it a travesty? I'm really glad you're too far away to ever have one of my games.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In our case, we have R3 between 3rd and 2nd with F5 between R3 and 3rd. So he is now in a run down between 3rd and 2nd and may legally retreat to 2nd base. R2 is out for allowing himself to get in front of R3. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Rule 7.01 Comment: If a runner legally acquires title to a base, and the pitcher assumes his pitching position, the runner may not return to a previously occupied base. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|