The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2007, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 34
1 is a dead ball and award the 2 bases.
2 is the batter is out for interference by the coach
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2007, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

clips2,

What if...

In 1, it was the offensive coach on a bucket outside the dugout entrance

and/or

In 2, it was the defensive coach?

Would this affect your suggested rulings?

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2007, 04:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Check it out ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by clips2
1 is a dead ball and award the 2 bases.
2 is the batter is out for interference by the coach

As Coach JM suggested, this is not so cut and dry.

Might need to rethink this one as it really depends upon intent of those involved.

Looked in my book for a ruling and couldn't find a FED ruling that suggested a dead ball without intent.

OBR is pretty much the same and I believe NCAA even has a ruling to keep it live??

Thanks
David
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2007, 06:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 34
interference is interference...specially if it is a defefensive coach...how can he argue when he is not allowed on field unless he is requesting time after a play. bucket is not a piece of equipment allowed on field and team has to be responsible for that and take the penalty like a man
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2007, 06:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Hmmm....

So, if I understand you correctly, you would award the defense an out because a defensive coach interfered with a (defensive) fielder's attempt to catch a pop fly.

Groundbreaking ruling, to say the least.

I would very much enjoy being the offensive manager (who was in his dugout, like he was supposed to be, by the way) when you made this call.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2007, 11:13pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJM
Hmmm....

So, if I understand you correctly, you would award the defense an out because a defensive coach interfered with a (defensive) fielder's attempt to catch a pop fly.

Groundbreaking ruling, to say the least.

I would very much enjoy being the offensive manager (who was in his dugout, like he was supposed to be, by the way) when you made this call.

JM
Very interesting.

My first reaction to 1) was rule as if the ball went into the dugout. My first reaction to 2) was interference. But then the curve ball is thrown and we consider who was sitting on the bucket.

But don't enjoy the situation too much.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2007, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Wink

Don,

Quote:
Originally Posted by DG
But don't enjoy the situation too much.
Good advice.

Since you brought it up, which of:

"mealy-mouthed", "transparent", and "draconian"

do you think would get me tossed in a game?

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2007, 11:34pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJM
Don,



Good advice.

Since you brought it up, which of:

"mealy-mouthed", "transparent", and "draconian"

do you think would get me tossed in a game?

JM
Personal, prolonged, or profane will get you tossed. It would depend on what you said while you were mealy-mouthed, transparent, or dracanian whether one of the 2P's applied. The prolonged P is a function of time and would probably be the last P. Given enough time the other two P's will appear but if not, rolonged will get rid of the argument.

It's a mute discussion, however, because I don't allow coaches on buckets outside the dugout.

Last edited by DG; Wed Mar 07, 2007 at 11:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2007, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Wink Citations please

Quote:
Originally Posted by clips2
interference is interference...specially if it is a defefensive coach...how can he argue when he is not allowed on field unless he is requesting time after a play. bucket is not a piece of equipment allowed on field and team has to be responsible for that and take the penalty like a man
Now if you could just give me the rule to back up your decision.

Sure the bucket is not supposed to be on the field but it still requires "intent"

Same as with the photograper, kids warming up in live ball territory, etc.,

Thansk
David
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 08, 2007, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by David B
Now if you could just give me the rule to back up your decision.

Sure the bucket is not supposed to be on the field but it still requires "intent"

Same as with the photograper, kids warming up in live ball territory, etc.,

Thansk
David
Somewhere, there's a FED ruling (might be in one of the yearly interps) to the effect that an umpire should judge what would have happened to a thrown ball that hits equipment left outside the dugout, and rule accordingly.

IMO, the benefit of the doubt goes to the team that didn't have the equipment / bucket outside the dugout.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 08, 2007, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Bob,

From FED 1-3-7:

Quote:
PENALTY: If loose equipment interferes with play, the umpire may call an out(s), award bases or return runners, based on his judgement and the circumstances concerning the play.
JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 08, 2007, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern OH
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Somewhere, there's a FED ruling (might be in one of the yearly interps) to the effect that an umpire should judge what would have happened to a thrown ball that hits equipment left outside the dugout, and rule accordingly.

IMO, the benefit of the doubt goes to the team that didn't have the equipment / bucket outside the dugout.
You're right.
Fed 1-3-7
Under penalty
If loose equipment interferes with play, the umpire may call an out(s), award bases or return runners, based on his judgement and the circumstances concerning the play.

I love these total judgement penalties
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 08, 2007, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
1): Equipment must be inside the dugout or in a dead ball area.

NF Rule 1-3-7...loose equipment, such as gloves, bats, helmets, or catcher's gear, of either team, may not be on or near the field

Penalty: If loose equipment interferes with the play, the umpire may call an out(s), award bases or return runners, based on his judgement and the circumstances concerning the play.

2) People must be inside the dugout unless authorized to be out.

NF Rule3-3-1a.

A coach, player, substitute, attendant or other bench personnel shall not leave the dugout during a live ball for an unauthorized purpose.

Penalty: At the end of playing action, the umpire shall issue a warning to the coach of the team involved and the next offender on that team shall be ejected.

Therefore, it is illegal for a coach or any player etc to sit on a bucket outside the dugout at any time. Nor may any equipment be left lying in live ball area. Umpires must be diligent to make sure these two basic rules are followed. I mention it briefly at pregame meeting with coaches as a preventative measure and so far I have never had to invoke any of the penalties listed above.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 08, 2007, 05:33pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Coaches sitting outside the dugout on buckets is no longer a problem around here. Players coming out to congratulate runners who have scored still is.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 07, 2007, 08:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by clips2
interference is interference...specially if it is a defefensive coach...how can he argue when he is not allowed on field unless he is requesting time after a play. bucket is not a piece of equipment allowed on field and team has to be responsible for that and take the penalty like a man

So you're going to reward the defense for screwing up? Interesting concept.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball in Dugout wmandino Baseball 14 Tue May 16, 2006 09:25pm
From the Dugout tcblue13 Softball 8 Fri May 05, 2006 12:20pm
coaching beyond the dugout quiggley94 Baseball 5 Wed May 04, 2005 06:50am
Dugout MichaelVA2000 Softball 4 Thu Jul 11, 2002 09:45pm
History of the Dugout bgray Baseball 7 Wed Apr 10, 2002 10:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1