![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Back to the type b obs
Quote:
THanks! |
|
|||
|
LLBob,
The following is from the MLBUM under the discussion of "Type B" Obstruction: Quote:
If you read the Baseball Canada rulebook linked in a previous post, on pp. 11-12 there is a subtle distinction in their interp that differs from the MLBUM; i.e., they say kill the play when the obstructed runner is played upon, and make no explicit distinction as to whether the runner is safe or out, or, if out, whether out before or after he attained his "protected to" base. Under OBR, there is no "mandatory minimum" award on a Type B Obs. The way TiBear's 1st question was worded (out by a mile at home) would lead me to think that the Obstructed runner was NOT protected to home. Therefore, under the OBR MLBUM interp quoted above, I would NOT have killed the play since the Obstructed runner was legitimately out, even with the Obstruction, and I would have left the ball live and allowed the 2nd out on the BR. Under OBR. Maybe Baseball Canada wants a different ruling. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Thanks for the reply...given the OP I would have done the exact same thing, which is why I was confused when Bob J said the test answer was correct. I understand the need to kill the play if the obs runner was tagged out when I would have awarded home - but like you said, since he was out by a mile...I didn't understand why we should kill it...thanks again, Bob |
|
|||
|
Yes actually Baseball canada does want a different ruling. They actually changed the wording of the question about 1 week after the test was originally released addign the bit about the Runner was thrown out by a mile. Personally, I never had enough info on whether or not there was an award or not, which is what they wanted. In the Baseball Canada interps, once the runner is played on the Play is over. Inforce the obs to the level you are going to and Make the call. Also I may be wrong, but Rounding third tells me he obtained third and was heading home.
__________________
3apps "It isn't enough for an umpire merely to know what he's doing. He has to look as though he know what he's doing too." - National League Umpire Larry Goetz "Boys, I'm one of those umpires that misses 'em every once in a while so if it's close, you'd better hit it." Last edited by 3appleshigh; Wed Nov 01, 2006 at 05:54pm. |
|
|||
|
After pondering this question a day or so, I have another question.
Situation: R1, # outs doesn't matter. Pitcher attempts pick-off at first as runner breaks for second, R1 involved in rundown between first and second and while slidding back into first is obstructed by defensive player without ball. Doesn't the runner automatically get second base or is he only entitled to first? Given the question on the exam and the subsequent answer that the umpire would have to have judged the runner would have made it home if he wasn't obstructed. In my situation, the answer would have to be that R1 is NOT entitled to second but only first because infact when he was obstructed he wasn't even attempting for second but first. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
But if the obstruction is clear, then the penalty also depends on the ruleset. In FED, runner gets his advance base. In OBR type A, runner gets the base he was trying to get, in this case 1B.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Comparing Answers for 2006-2007 Exam | gordyscott | Basketball | 22 | Sun Oct 26, 2008 05:57pm |
| 2006 NF Mechinacs exam | umpire200 | Football | 4 | Mon Sep 18, 2006 11:07am |
| 2006 Nfhs Exam | silverstar1 | Volleyball | 6 | Wed Aug 30, 2006 01:41pm |
| 2006 Football Exam Part II | Rythem1007 | Football | 2 | Wed Aug 30, 2006 07:30am |
| 2006 CCA Exam on Refstripes.com | gscsj | Football | 0 | Wed May 17, 2006 11:32pm |