The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 05, 2006, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
"it is not INT if the batter-runner's exit of the 45-foot lane is a step, stride, reach, or slide in the immediate vicinity of 1B, with the sole purpose of touching the base." (J/R p.105)

Absolutely true.

I would have called interference, though, because Gathright moved sharply to his left, from fully in the running lane to well inside the line, two steps before the bag. Either Gathright is a horrible runner or he intentionally interfered. I strongly suspect the latter. Since a Yankee runner was called out on a similar play to end their season last year, I was surprised the Yankees didn't protest.

Maybe they knew they were going to score 10 runs in the 8th.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 05, 2006, 11:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
"it is not INT if the batter-runner's exit of the 45-foot lane is a step, stride, reach, or slide in the immediate vicinity of 1B, with the sole purpose of touching the base." (J/R p.105)

Absolutely true.

I would have called interference, though, because Gathright moved sharply to his left, from fully in the running lane to well inside the line, two steps before the bag. Either Gathright is a horrible runner or he intentionally interfered. I strongly suspect the latter. Since a Yankee runner was called out on a similar play to end their season last year, I was surprised the Yankees didn't protest.

Maybe they knew they were going to score 10 runs in the 8th.
It's not a protestable situation.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 06, 2006, 12:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
It's not a protestable situation.

I should have known better than to have used the word protested. Better would have been squawked or argued or something similar. I didn't mean "lodge a protest."
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 06, 2006, 12:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lompoc, CA
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
It's not a protestable situation.

I should have known better than to have used the word protested. Better would have been squawked or argued or something similar. I didn't mean "lodge a protest."
Hey all,

If you are referring to the play when A-Rod intentionally punched the glove to jar the ball loose against the Red Sox, if memory serves, to avoid getting tagged out, there is a big diffference. A-Rod went after the ball to avoid being put out, the other play had the runner going across the base and then running into the first baseman after the out was already acheived.

LomUmp
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 06, 2006, 02:04am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by LomUmp
Hey all,

If you are referring to the play when A-Rod intentionally punched the glove to jar the ball loose against the Red Sox, if memory serves, to avoid getting tagged out, there is a big diffference. A-Rod went after the ball to avoid being put out, the other play had the runner going across the base and then running into the first baseman after the out was already acheived.

LomUmp
Wrong play. A-Rod's play was the year before.

In the play the other night, iirc, the ball was past 1B just before the runner's foot hit the bag.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 06, 2006, 02:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lompoc, CA
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
"it is not INT if the batter-runner's exit of the 45-foot lane is a step, stride, reach, or slide in the immediate vicinity of 1B, with the sole purpose of touching the base." (J/R p.105)

Absolutely true.

I would have called interference, though, because Gathright moved sharply to his left, from fully in the running lane to well inside the line, two steps before the bag. Either Gathright is a horrible runner or he intentionally interfered. I strongly suspect the latter. Since a Yankee runner was called out on a similar play to end their season last year, I was surprised the Yankees didn't protest.

Maybe they knew they were going to score 10 runs in the 8th.
Hey all,

What play is he talking about, then? The A-Rod play was the closest to what he is describing that I can think of. That play had to be last year since A-Rod is only in his second year with the Bronx Bombers.

LomUmp
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 06, 2006, 02:45am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by LomUmp
Hey all,

What play is he talking about, then? The A-Rod play was the closest to what he is describing that I can think of. That play had to be last year since A-Rod is only in his second year with the Bronx Bombers.

LomUmp
Um, no, the play wasn't last year. And A-Rod is in his 3rd year with the Yankees. The play with A-Rod was against Boston and happened in 2004.

The play being referred to occurred in game 5 of last year's AL playoffs- Yankees vs. Angels. Robinson Cano of the Yanks was involved.

http://sports.yahoo.com/mlb/recap?gid=251010103

Using Joe West's statement in the 2005 re-cap, Gathright shoulda also been out also t'other night; he was definitely outside of the runner's lane. Not that it makes any nevermind anyway.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Sep 06, 2006 at 02:48am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 06, 2006, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lompoc, CA
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Um, no, the play wasn't last year. And A-Rod is in his 3rd year with the Yankees. The play with A-Rod was against Boston and happened in 2004.

The play being referred to occurred in game 5 of last year's AL playoffs- Yankees vs. Angels. Robinson Cano of the Yanks was involved.

http://sports.yahoo.com/mlb/recap?gid=251010103

Using Joe West's statement in the 2005 re-cap, Gathright shoulda also been out also t'other night; he was definitely outside of the runner's lane. Not that it makes any nevermind anyway.
Hey all,

I could have sworn that this is only A-Rod's second year...where does the time go? Sorry about the confusion.

LomUmp
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Twins/Royals last night johnnyg08 Baseball 12 Fri Jul 07, 2006 01:05pm
Yankees @ Angels - Game 5 ALDS UMP25 Baseball 45 Thu Oct 13, 2005 07:33pm
Balk call in O's/Yankees game gotblue? Baseball 13 Wed Jun 29, 2005 01:19pm
Who will the Yankees buy the MVP for? bo_job Baseball 0 Thu Oct 23, 2003 04:32pm
Red Sox/Yankees jicecone Baseball 17 Fri Oct 17, 2003 04:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1