The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 17, 2006, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

I find myself compelled to agree with PWL's suggestion of putting the R1 back at the plate with the count he had prior to the balk, essentially nullifying the two pitches that occurred between the balk and somebody waking up to the fact that the Batter had improperly taken 1B.

This situation, a Batter taking 1B prior to completing his at bat, is a "...point not specifically covered..." in the rules, and, therefore, 9.01(c) is the relevant rule - the umpire has the authority to rule as he thinks best.

While I could see treating this as an unusual BOOT as a "supportable" approach, it still leaves hanging the question of what to do with the "improper" R1, and it does not seem consistent with the intent and spirit of the BOOT rule.

To me, this situation is MOST analagous to the umpire improperly putting the ball back into play - as in a "dead ball/hidden ball" trick attempt when the pitcher gets on/astride the rubber without the ball after the ball has been made dead. When the R? steps off the base and is tagged by the F? who has the ball, NOTHING happened. Even though the umpire may have pointed/called the ball into play, the conditions were not met for doing so.

Likewise, the BRD has an extensive discussion (Section #238, for those following along at home) which quotes Evans, Deary, and the J/R as supporting nullification of all action should the umpire inadvertantly put the ball in play when the defense does not have eight fielders in fair territory.

While the latter situation has a specific rule requiring that the defense meet the "eight in fair" criteria for putting the ball in play (4.03) and the situation posed does not, it seems most consistent with the intent and spirit of the rules, and the "proper" batter should definitely NOT be on 1B, notwithstanding the absence of an explicit rule stating so.

IMHO, the ruling most consistent with the spirit, intent, official interpretations, and authoritative opinions of the rules is to return the proper batter to the plate with the count he had at the time of the balk and nullify any intervening action.

And tell the TD to GTFOTF until and unless his duties require his presence there.

JM

Last edited by UmpJM; Thu Aug 17, 2006 at 03:11pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable Error eventnyc Basketball 20 Wed Feb 15, 2006 04:20pm
correctable error? Snake~eyes Basketball 8 Sun Apr 03, 2005 09:29pm
Correctable error som44 Basketball 9 Mon Jan 26, 2004 02:51pm
correctable error? cardinalfan Basketball 9 Tue Jan 20, 2004 05:59pm
correctable error? zac Basketball 7 Thu Oct 10, 2002 08:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1