The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 323
Send a message via AIM to aceholleran
LL only--7.13 miasma

R1, R3. R3 takes a legal lead after pitch. Ball is returned to F1. R3 moves back toward sack, then darts toward home again to draw a throw.

F1 is having none of it. He and F2 get ready for the pitch. F1 is on the slab, and R3 is standing a couple of feet off the base, both feet planted, making no move to return.

As F1 winds up, R3 returns to the pad, and stays there until B1 hits an infield grounder which is muffed.

When the dust clears, R3 has scored, R1 is on third and B1 is safe at first.

Now, you tell me what I did. I'll check for responses and tell you the outcome later today or tomorrow.

Ace in CT
__________________
There is no such thing as idiot-proof, only idiot-resistant.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Flag R3 for leaving early.

Because the ball was hit within the infield, the "poof" rule comes into effect.

R3 removed from bases, R2 to 3rd, R1 to 2B, B-R to 1B.

No run scores.


Try a hard one next time.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 10:51am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by aceholleran
R1, R3. R3 takes a legal lead after pitch. Ball is returned to F1. R3 moves back toward sack, then darts toward home again to draw a throw.

F1 is having none of it. He and F2 get ready for the pitch. F1 is on the slab, and R3 is standing a couple of feet off the base, both feet planted, making no move to return.

As F1 winds up, R3 returns to the pad, and stays there until B1 hits an infield grounder which is muffed.

When the dust clears, R3 has scored, R1 is on third and B1 is safe at first.

Now, you tell me what I did. I'll check for responses and tell you the outcome later today or tomorrow.

Ace in CT

From here I see three options.
  1. You judged the runner left early and ended up with R3, R2, and R1.
  2. You judged the runner merely returned late and ended up with R3, R1 and a run scored. (But, you didn't do that, or you wouldn't have posted, I'm guessing.)
  3. You called Williamsport for a ruling on another poorly written rule. (You probably didn't do that either.)
So, I pick door #1.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
Flag R3 for leaving early.

Because the ball was hit within the infield, the "poof" rule comes into effect.

R3 removed from bases, R2 to 3rd, R1 to 2B, B-R to 1B.

No run scores.


Try a hard one next time.
Ummm..Rich? Looks like your "poof" was R2 appearing from nowhere...

Still, no run scores on R3 leaving early, bases now loaded.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 10:59am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Striker991
Ummm..Rich? Looks like your "poof" was R2 appearing from nowhere...

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
Well, I hope you did nothing on this play.

Was R3 in contact with the bag when the pitch reached the batter? If yes, no flag. If no, drop the flag.

It's as simple as that folks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally Posted by kylejt
Well, I hope you did nothing on this play.

Was R3 in contact with the bag when the pitch reached the batter? If yes, no flag. If no, drop the flag.

It's as simple as that folks.
Kyle:

The runner has to be in contact with the base at the time the ball is pitched or he's violated 7.13. In fact, a literal interpretation of 7.13 would suggest he needs to be back in contact as soon as the battery is set.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 12:11pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Striker991
Ummm..Rich? Looks like your "poof" was R2 appearing from nowhere...
Well, they say the poof is in the pudding!
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 323
Send a message via AIM to aceholleran
Nice job, but I ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
From here I see three options.
  1. You judged the runner left early and ended up with R3, R2, and R1.
  2. You judged the runner merely returned late and ended up with R3, R1 and a run scored. (But, you didn't do that, or you wouldn't have posted, I'm guessing.)
  3. You called Williamsport for a ruling on another poorly written rule. (You probably didn't do that either.)
So, I pick door #1.
mick
.. and I picked door #1.

I have always used this interp. Pitcher ready + beginning his motion + runner off bag = hanky.

Sold it without too much tension, especially after ensuing batter hit a grand salami.

Ace
__________________
There is no such thing as idiot-proof, only idiot-resistant.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
Flag R3 for leaving early.

Because the ball was hit within the infield, the "poof" rule comes into effect.

R3 removed from bases, R2 to 3rd, R1 to 2B, B-R to 1B.

No run scores.

Try a hard one next time.
Rich... is this the Reverse Poof effect, where you are allowed to invent a runner and add him to the equation? Who the heck is R2?
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Rich... is this the Reverse Poof effect, where you are allowed to invent a runner and add him to the equation? Who the heck is R2?
No poof needed, as we have room for the BR. If the bases had been loaded, then poof comes into effect.

Bases loaded, let's play
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
Kyle:

The runner has to be in contact with the base at the time the ball is pitched or he's violated 7.13. In fact, a literal interpretation of 7.13 would suggest he needs to be back in contact as soon as the battery is set.


Tim.
The literal wording of 7.13 can be misapplied to mean a whole lot. The intention is to keep the runners from getting a head start. Period. If a pitcher sees a runner walking back to the back, and starts his motion, it's nothing. The runner can't leave before the pitch reaches the batter. Having the battery set only applies if the runner decides to take off. If he's not in contact during the motion, but gets back before the ball reaches the batter, we're in compliance with the letter, and the intent of the rule.

Again, JMHO and YMMV.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally Posted by kylejt
The literal wording of 7.13 can be misapplied to mean a whole lot. The intention is to keep the runners from getting a head start. Period. If a pitcher sees a runner walking back to the back, and starts his motion, it's nothing. The runner can't leave before the pitch reaches the batter. Having the battery set only applies if the runner decides to take off. If he's not in contact during the motion, but gets back before the ball reaches the batter, we're in compliance with the letter, and the intent of the rule.

Again, JMHO and YMMV.
Try getting this one passed a protest committee. The rule is abundantly clear that the runner must be on the bag at the time the pitcher is ready to deliver the ball. There's no wiggle room here. If he's returning when the ball is delivered he's in violation. I was of the same opinion that you are until Andy Konyar responded to an e-mail I sent him last Summer. He set me straight in a hurry.


Tim.

Last edited by BigUmp56; Fri Jul 14, 2006 at 04:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
Try getting this one passed a protest committee. The rule is abundantly clear that the runner must be on the bag at the time the pitcher is ready to deliver the ball. There's no wiggle room here. If he's returning when the ball is delivered he's in violation. I was of the same opinion that you are until Andy Konyar responded to an e-mail I sent him last Summer. He set me straight in a hurry.


Tim.

Using the book, or Andys words, you can drop the flag if a runner raises his foot off the bag at any time between when the catcher faces the pitcher, to when the pitch reaches the batter.

I choose not enforce that interpretation, but there's enough fuzziness in the wording for us all to be right. Thus the real problem.

As you can probably tell, I don't lock-step to everything that Andy sez.


Kyle
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2006, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally Posted by kylejt
Using the book, or Andys words, you can drop the flag if a runner raises his foot off the bag at any time between when the catcher faces the pitcher, to when the pitch reaches the batter.

I choose not enforce that interpretation, but there's enough fuzziness in the wording for us all to be right. Thus the real problem.

As you can probably tell, I don't lock-step to everything that Andy sez.


Kyle
Thats right. Why go by the book or apply the rules the way the UIC for the largest national youth baseball organization suggests when you can make your own stuff up. Give me a break, Kyle. It's no wonder why other umpires call all LL umpires Smitties.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1