
Fri Jul 14, 2006, 10:51am
|
In Memoriam
|
|
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by aceholleran
R1, R3. R3 takes a legal lead after pitch. Ball is returned to F1. R3 moves back toward sack, then darts toward home again to draw a throw.
F1 is having none of it. He and F2 get ready for the pitch. F1 is on the slab, and R3 is standing a couple of feet off the base, both feet planted, making no move to return.
As F1 winds up, R3 returns to the pad, and stays there until B1 hits an infield grounder which is muffed.
When the dust clears, R3 has scored, R1 is on third and B1 is safe at first.
Now, you tell me what I did. I'll check for responses and tell you the outcome later today or tomorrow.
Ace in CT
|
From here I see three options.
- You judged the runner left early and ended up with R3, R2, and R1.
- You judged the runner merely returned late and ended up with R3, R1 and a run scored. (But, you didn't do that, or you wouldn't have posted, I'm guessing.)
- You called Williamsport for a ruling on another poorly written rule. (You probably didn't do that either.)
So, I pick door #1.
mick
|