![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Wait until the fielder does something to demonstrate control -- something not associated with the catch / tag action.
In the first play, "turning the glove" is enough (assuming that act didn't cause the ball to come loose). In the second play, it could be a change of direction, a significant change of speed (he's no longer continuing his momentum of running to the ball, he's now jogging in to the dugout), a successful movement of the glove from a "catching" postion to a "carrying" position, .... |
|
|||
|
In the second play, the other umpire should not have said a word if it was your call to make. No verbal or physical out call is necessary on the play since it was not a possible catch/no catch situation, IOW, it was obvious that the ball was caught. If the fielder ended up dropping the ball before demonstrating control or a voluntary release, then the "no catch" call and arm signal would need to be made.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
I concur with Bob on the first situation. Roder mentions that catch and tag are similar concepts and that voluntary release applies to both. I believe Evans mentions that all the fielder has to do is show secure possession through the tag. Turning the glove over with possession of the ball is enough for me to judge that he had secure possession.
Tim. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
| To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
| More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |
| Good Call / Bad Call | whiskers_ump | Softball | 29 | Fri Mar 28, 2003 09:35am |
| Does one call relate to the last call? | Tee | Basketball | 28 | Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm |