The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 11, 2006, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Danger, Thin Ice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Hensley
In the first situation, the issue is not really deciding whether the fielder has secure control, it is knowing, FOR SURE, where the ball is and confirming that it is in the possession of the fielder who made the tag. "Show me the ball" is a perfectly appropriate and common means of making that determination.

Now, to deal with the drop in situation 1 and the issue in situation 2, Evans speaks of the concept of "he had it long enough" to confirm secure possession, even in the absence of a voluntary and intentional release. The "long enough" principle clearly applies in both your situations. In fact, it's why nobody argued with your out call in the first situation, even when the fielder ultimately dropped the ball out of his glove. Everybody "gets it," intuitively.
Be careful here Dave. IMO, this is one of the most difficult to defend positions regarding catch/no catch.
What exactly is long enough? If you're discussing this play with a manager, how do you describe what is long enough? The party of the second part in a discussion will most likely ask for a time frame (is 3 seconds long enough?)

It all comes back to the player demonstrating complete control of the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 11, 2006, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctblu40
Be careful here Dave. IMO, this is one of the most difficult to defend positions regarding catch/no catch.
What exactly is long enough? If you're discussing this play with a manager, how do you describe what is long enough? The party of the second part in a discussion will most likely ask for a time frame (is 3 seconds long enough?)

It all comes back to the player demonstrating complete control of the ball.
And demonstrating "complete control" and then subsequently dropping the ball involuntarily and unintentionally is, if ruled a catch, nothing more than adopting the "he had it long enough" principle.

"Complete control" is not the rulebook criteria. "Voluntary and intentional release" is, and it is inadequate as the sole determinant of whether a ball was caught or not.

If your guideline is "complete control" but you ignore a subsequent drop of the ball, then you're using Evans' "long enough" guideline whether you acknowledge it or not.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 11, 2006, 09:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Hmmm? Me thinks you're right. I do use the "long enough" criteria.

So what about explaining this to the manager? It seems as thought their argument is always "He had it long enough."
What response could one use that would not initiate the what is the time frame question?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 11, 2006, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctblu40
Hmmm? Me thinks you're right. I do use the "long enough" criteria.

So what about explaining this to the manager? It seems as thought their argument is always "He had it long enough."
What response could one use that would not initiate the what is the time frame question?
"long enough" refers to actions, not to elapsed time.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 11, 2006, 02:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 47
Catch or no Catch

I was under the impression from the rule book that the fielder who caught the ball had to physically remove the ball from the glove in order for it to be called an out. Now with that said, I'm one of those who use the "he had it long enough" thing, which after reading some posts here is the wrong thing to say. But if the rule book says the fielder has to physically remove it from the glove in order for it to be an out...and after the fielder runs 50-feet towards the mound after making the catch which was the 3rd out then drops the ball from his glove, and the coach uses the physically remove the ball thing, what do you do then? Of course this is all hypothetically but what the hell, it could happen...it's baseball where there's a winner and a loser and no one likes to lose!
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 11, 2006, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
What you do is NOT use the 'physically remove the ball' idea exclusively. There is not set time, just 'long enough' to demonstrate that for purposes of the catch the fielder showed sufficient control.

The fact that time elapses during this process does not mean the umpire is waiting for a set amount of time to elapse


Dave Hensley is right on here.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 11, 2006, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle George
But if the rule book says the fielder has to physically remove it from the glove in order for it to be an out...
?!?!?!

If your rulebook says this, I suggest you get another one. Yours appears to be for Calvinball.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Good Call / Bad Call whiskers_ump Softball 29 Fri Mar 28, 2003 09:35am
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1