![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I almost didn't want to dignify the previous misinformation with a response, but I found this and thought it would directly disprove PWL's ideas. Here goes...
MLB Rule 2.00 (Catch) Comment: A catch is legal if the ball is finally held by any fielder, even though juggled, or held by another fielder before it touches the ground. Runners may leave their bases the instant the first fielder touches the ball. A fielder may reach over a fence, railing, rope or other line of demarcation to make a catch. He may jump on top of a railing, or canvas that may be in foul ground. No interference should be allowed when a fielder reaches over a fence, railing, rope or into a stand to catch a ball. He does so at his own risk. MLB Rule 7.08 (d) He fails to retouch his base after a fair or foul ball is legally caught before he, or his base, is tagged by a fielder. He shall not be called out for failure to retouch his base after the first following pitch, or any play or attempted play. This is an appeal play; I just pulled MLB.com's Rule Book for the citations because I'm at work at 3am and didn't feel like going out to the car to pull other books.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush |
|
|||
|
And you're still wrong. Notice that there is no distinction between fair and foul under Rule 2.00 CATCH. The runners may leave their bases the instant the first fielder touches the ball. If a the ball then becomes an uncaught foul, then the runner(s) must return.
However, they may leave as soon as the ball is touched, whether in fair or foul ground. Otherwise, the reason the rule is there in the first place would be useless. The rule is there to prevent shenanigans that outfielders used to pull back in the days prior to the rule. They would juggle the ball all the way in to the infield, so that the runners could never score on sacrifice fly situations, both fair and foul. By your logic, the fielders could do the same BS manuevers they did way back when. Just tip the ball in the air as they ran in from the outfield. That is why you are wrong, and everyone else is right.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Well, since it says both fair or foul the passage is inclusive of any fly ball. It's not poorly worded. It's just a ruling you need to make by combining two different rules. Something good umpires have to do. It's amazing that you just cannot ever accept the fact that you're wrong. I'll bet the coaches and protest committees love you. Tim. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The runners can leave the base as soon as the fielder touches the ball. That is just as simple as it can be stated. I agree that 7.08(d) is poorly written, but the runners don't have to "wait and see" if the ball is eventually caught in fair or foul ground. If it is foul, and not caught, the umpire will call, "Foul" and then the runner(s) will return to his(their) original base(s).
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Quote:
As you said yourself, the rule is poorly worded. It says "legally caught" when it should say "first touched and then legally caught." Lots of rules in the rulebook are poorly worded, which is why we have clarifications in the form of Casebook Comments, and official and authoritative interpretive manuals. The rulebook is like a really important contract written by a really bad lawyer. In this particular case, the cliche "in a fight between you and the world, back the world" is completely applicable. You're in a minority of 1 in your erroneous intepretation. |
|
|||
|
From the BRD:
FED: A baserunner may leave his base as soon as a fly ball is touched by the first fielder. (8-2-4) NCAA: Same as FED. (8-6a-1) OBR: Same as FED. "Runners may leave their bases the instant the first fielder touches the ball. (2.00 Catch CMT 1) Carl goes on to point out the inconsistencies contained in OBR, and again in this case, Rule 7.10(a) is in place only to make sure that the runner does not get a "running start" from a point behind the base, IOW, he must start in contact with the base. It also states "after the ball is caught" but it too should read "after first touched by a fielder."
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Are we really arguing about this?
Look at the comment attached to rule 2-
Rule 2.00 (Catch) Comment: A catch is legal if the ball is finally held by any fielder, even though juggled, or held by another fielder before it touches the ground. Runners may leave their bases the instant the first fielder touches the ball. There are many problems with the official rules, but this one seems to be one such problem that everyone I've ever talked to agrees upon. I'm failing to understand where you're coming from with thi PWL. I'm not trying to be a smarta$$, but help me understand your logic...
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Tim. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
1. When is a runner called out for not properly retouching after a batted ball is caught in flight? 2. The definition of a catch. 3. The definition of "in flight." 4. When does a batted ball become fair (or foul)? Okay... I think I'm starting to understand your logic a little more. Perhaps there are 3 ideas/definitions we need to explore with this: 1. When is a player out for not properly retouching after a batted ball is caught in flight. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The next logical step would be to find out what a catch is and then you read ...Rule 2.00 (Catch) Comment: A catch is legal if the ball is finally held by any fielder, even though juggled, or held by another fielder before it touches the ground. Runners may leave their bases the instant the first fielder touches the ball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
7.10(a) is listed there along with the touch requirements just to illustrate the inconsistency in the language of the rule, just like you are saying about the errors in the book. In that there are errors, we agree. But there are interpretations in place that specify which rule to go by. Carl goes on to say, in touch requirements, to just go by rule 2.00 Catch: Comment 1, which states that on any fly ball, the runners can leave their bases as soon as the first fielder TOUCHES the ball!!! That is the ruling to use in all fly ball situations. Do you get that?
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
MLB RULE 7.08 (d) He fails to retouch his base after a fair or foul ball is legally caught.
And the rule defining legally caught says the runners can leave when first touched. What's so hard to comprehend here?
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Catch or no catch(foul ball)? | illiniwek8 | Baseball | 2 | Sat Mar 25, 2006 07:16pm |
| catch? | yankeesfan | Baseball | 8 | Thu Aug 26, 2004 06:58am |
| To catch, or not to catch; the coin, that is... | chiefgil | Football | 13 | Wed Aug 11, 2004 06:40am |
| Catch/No Catch | Illini_Ref | Baseball | 3 | Fri May 21, 2004 12:49pm |
| Catch or No Catch | Husker John | Football | 2 | Tue Nov 05, 2002 12:09pm |