The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 26, 2006, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJM
tcarilli,

So, if an R1 takes off on the pitch, and the batter hits a fly ball to the F9, who catches it and throws to the F3, who tags the base prior to the R1 retouching, I assume you would rule "SAFE!" ??? (BTW, neither the F3 nor the F9 said anything.)

JM

Not the same. Everyone in the park knows it's an appeal on the fly ball - it meets the An appeal should be clearly intended as an appeal, either by a verbal request by the player or an act that unmistakably indicates an appeal to the umpire.

However, merely tagging a runner who has legally overrun first base is NOT an unmistakable act.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missed Base rj Softball 13 Wed May 04, 2005 04:37am
HR, missed base Jay R Baseball 18 Tue May 13, 2003 02:38pm
FED - Missed base PeteBooth Baseball 2 Tue Oct 01, 2002 03:33pm
Missed Base brandda Baseball 3 Tue May 21, 2002 09:43pm
Missed base Robert G Baseball 4 Mon Aug 20, 2001 12:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1