The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2006, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
This isn't a TAG of a runner, it's a TOUCH of a base. Completely different.

FED 8-4-2j: 'Any runner is out when he fails to reach the next base before a fielder either tags the runner out or holds the ball while touching such base..."

FED 2-24-1: "A force-out is a putout.......or is put out by a fielder who holds the ball while touching the base toward which the force runner is advancing...


Doesn't matter where the ball is as long as it is legally held; then any part of the body that touches the base during/after such a legal catch/hold completes the force.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1