The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Out or no out (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/27099-out-no-out.html)

ILBLUE Mon Jun 19, 2006 08:58am

Out or no out
 
Fed rules.
Ball is hit to F3, ball is held securely in his hand, F3 touches 1st base with his glove before the runner reaches 1st base. Is the runner out or safe ?

CJN Mon Jun 19, 2006 09:01am

Out.......

UmpJM Mon Jun 19, 2006 09:02am

ILBlue,

Out. This is a legal tag of the base (assuming the glove is being properly worn, of course), which is all that is required.

JM

ILBLUE Mon Jun 19, 2006 09:05am

Does anyone know the Fed rule on this ? I can't seem to find it.
Thanks.

LMan Mon Jun 19, 2006 09:13am

This must be "topic of the month" :D

bob jenkins Mon Jun 19, 2006 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILBLUE
Does anyone know the Fed rule on this ? I can't seem to find it.
Thanks.

See 8-4-1f

ozzy6900 Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:09am

Let's look at this another way. If it is legal for F3 to hold the ball in his glove and touch the base with his foot, why would it not be legal for F3 to hold the ball in his hand and touch the base with his glove?

ILBLUE Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:32am

I thought this was an out, but another ump insisted the runner was safe.
Thanks

RPatrino Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:00am

:rolleyes:

David B Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:05am

Safe?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ILBLUE
I thought this was an out, but another ump insisted the runner was safe.
Thanks

That's funny, and it would be nice to hear his justification of how he was safe. Umpiring can be so difficult sometimes ... (g)

Thanks
David

LMan Mon Jun 19, 2006 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900
Let's look at this another way. If it is legal for F3 to hold the ball in his glove and touch the base with his foot, why would it not be legal for F3 to hold the ball in his hand and touch the base with his glove?


"Is the hand part of the glove?"

ajjl22 Mon Jun 19, 2006 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by David B
That's funny, and it would be nice to hear his justification of how he was safe. Umpiring can be so difficult sometimes ... (g)

Thanks
David


He probally confused tagging a base and tagging a runner:confused:

TussAgee11 Mon Jun 19, 2006 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILBLUE
Fed rules.
Ball is hit to F3, ball is held securely in his hand, F3 touches 1st base with his glove before the runner reaches 1st base. Is the runner out or safe ?



"A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove..."

Unless the glove is a part of his body, something in casebooks or another rule must contradict this.

I'm in agreement that he's out, but would just like to see a ruling.

LMan Mon Jun 19, 2006 03:26pm

This isn't a TAG of a runner, it's a TOUCH of a base. Completely different.

FED 8-4-2j: 'Any runner is out when he fails to reach the next base before a fielder either tags the runner out or holds the ball while touching such base..."

FED 2-24-1: "A force-out is a putout.......or is put out by a fielder who holds the ball while touching the base toward which the force runner is advancing...


Doesn't matter where the ball is as long as it is legally held; then any part of the body that touches the base during/after such a legal catch/hold completes the force.

cmckenna Mon Jun 19, 2006 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TussAgee11
"A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove..."

Unless the glove is a part of his body, something in casebooks or another rule must contradict this.

I'm in agreement that he's out, but would just like to see a ruling.

Is his shoe part of his foot???


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1