![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
"A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove..." Unless the glove is a part of his body, something in casebooks or another rule must contradict this. I'm in agreement that he's out, but would just like to see a ruling. |
|
|||
This isn't a TAG of a runner, it's a TOUCH of a base. Completely different.
FED 8-4-2j: 'Any runner is out when he fails to reach the next base before a fielder either tags the runner out or holds the ball while touching such base..." FED 2-24-1: "A force-out is a putout.......or is put out by a fielder who holds the ball while touching the base toward which the force runner is advancing... Doesn't matter where the ball is as long as it is legally held; then any part of the body that touches the base during/after such a legal catch/hold completes the force. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Some guys they just give up living, and start dying little by little, piece by piece. Some guys come home from work and wash-up, and they go Racing In The Street." - Springsteen, 1978 |
|
|||
This is a tag. Tag has two definitions. The tag of a base, and the tag of a runner. But thats just nitpicking.
The body must touch the bag. The glove is not a piece of the body, its a piece of equipment. I'm just playing Devil's Advocate here, because frankly I'd call him out but am curious to know what, if anything, the casebooks have to say about this. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|