The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 12, 2006, 11:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
I have all of these too, but I was looking for language that specifically deals with the windup position. All of the above seem to infer the set position, since that is the normal way to pick off runners. 8.01 (a) only says the pitcher may step and throw from the windup, but does not mention feinting.
8.01(b) doesn't mention feinting either, so why do you think it's allowed in one case and not the other?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 12, 2006, 11:55pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
8.01(b) doesn't mention feinting either, so why do you think it's allowed in one case and not the other?
Because in 8.01(a) it is specifically stated that he may step and throw only. It does not state that he can throw or make a legal feint. That is why I'm asking. It is not the normal case for a pitcher to attempt a pickoff from the windup position. I read the big, long thread from last year on the subject, and the consensus was that pickoffs from the windup position are very rare.

8.05(c) seems to indicate that the pitcher can feint to any base except first while touching his plate. Is it in the forum's opinion that this includes from the windup, or are they assumed to be talking about the set position, because feinting is specifically banned in the windup by rule?
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 13, 2006, 12:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Steve,

By my read, the OBR rules regarding throwing/feinting are identical for the pitcher regardless of whether he assumes a Windup or Set position.

I assure you that there are many coaches who "know" that it's illegal to make any pick-off move from a windup position without first disengaging. While this IS true under FED, it is false under OBR.

JM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windup BigUmp56 Baseball 5 Thu Apr 27, 2006 08:47am
Windup Position ranger71 Baseball 14 Tue Feb 21, 2006 05:29am
LEGAL WINDUP? mg43 Softball 5 Tue Apr 12, 2005 11:41am
Windup in FED Cubbies87 Baseball 9 Mon Jul 26, 2004 10:55pm
Overrun first; feint to second umpyre007 Baseball 15 Tue Feb 27, 2001 01:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1