The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 12, 2006, 11:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Yes, that is what I meant. Thank you. As I stated before, turning left after overrunning the base is not an attempt as long as the runner makes no bluff toward 2nd and returns to the base immediately.

What I was referring to, Garth, was a phenomenon usually associated with Little League Majors and Minors, of which I realize you have never worked or watched a game in your entire life . That is when a batter walks, he sprints to 1st base, and then he turns and takes a few quick steps toward 2nd in order to draw a throw from the catcher or pitcher before the pitcher can get on the rubber and the catcher in his box. They do this ad nauseum, in fact on nearly every base on balls. Kids...go figure!
Even if the pitcher and catcher are in position the runner can keep going.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing Home (or any base) after Walk-off HR TwoBits Baseball 10 Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:18am
Thrown ball into dead ball area 0balls2strikes Softball 7 Wed Aug 10, 2005 08:10pm
BR overruns 1st base on a walk Jay R Baseball 2 Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:43am
When Is A Walk Not A Free Base ? Bandit Softball 12 Thu May 06, 2004 07:47pm
Base Umpire Hit By Thrown Ball Blue316 Baseball 13 Sun Aug 18, 2002 08:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1