![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
That's simply not true. American Legion plays under slightly modified OBR. Obstruction is not one of the rules that have been modified. This is taken directly from my American Legion Umpires Manual. 4.21 Obstruction: Obstruction is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. If a fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and if the ball is in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the ball, he may be considered “in the act of fielding a ball.” It is entirely up to the judgment of the umpire as to whether a fielder is in the act of fielding a ball. After a fielder has made an attempt to field a ball and has missed, he can no longer be in the “act of fielding” the ball. For example: If an infielder dives at a ground ball and the ball passes him and he continues to lie on the ground and delays the progress of the runner, he very likely has obstructed the runner. In all cases of obstruction, the umpire calling the play should have the benefit of the advice of his partners. The umpire watching the obstruction will have difficulty in determining the position of other runners. It is recommended that, when “Time” is called on obstruction, if there is any doubt in the minds of the umpires about where the runners shall be placed, the umpires shall confer. Tim. |
|
|||
Quote:
"If the defensive player blocks the base (plate) or base line without the ball, obstruction shall be called. The runner is safe and a delayed dead ball shall be called. Ruling: If the runner collides flagrantly, he shall be declared safe on the obstruction, but will be ejected from the contest. The ball is dead." 4.21 in the Umpire's Manual appears to be in conflict with the actual rules posted. So this is not simple. |
|
|||
legion rule
2006 Legion Guide
Rule #22, Approved Ruling 2 .........If the defensive player blocks the base (plate) or base line clearly without the ball, or is not in the immediate act of catching the ball, obstruction shall be called. i think the intent of this rule is pretty much the same on all levels. it allows the fielder to momentarily block the base or plate while he is about to receive a throw. |
|
|||
My two cents
On a play at the plate involving the catcher blocking the plate without the ball, I was taught at umpire school (OBR) that this was legal if the thrown ball was 60-feet (pitcher's mound) or closer to the catcher. That is, that the catcher is in the "act of fielding the (thrown) ball" when that ball is no further than that distance. An equivalent distance would be used for throws on the bases.
Based on the language posted by BigUmp56, I have used this same interpretation in my American Legion games since leaving pro ball. The one time a coach came out to argue for a call of "obstruction", I gave him this interpretation. While he did not feel that the ball in flight was at the pitcher's mound or closer, he did not argue with my rules interpretation at all (only that the ball was not that close). I know that's not saying much...I mean he was a coach. His argument that the ball was not that close, however, was not that animated and it appeared to me that my interpretation as explained to him took a lot of "wind out of his sails". |
|
|||
Quote:
Also, you should check STATE legion rules. I know my state slightly modifies what the national book says. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Catcher hits bat with throwback | TriggerMN | Baseball | 16 | Mon Jul 04, 2005 08:38pm |