The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Question

Two Balls Two Strikes, ball hits batter in left elbow. PU says its a ball because he "leaned in" to intentionally get struck. I called time and asked for a repeat fo the call and he said same thing. I asked how could he call "ball" when batter was struck (his call, intentional) and that i thought it should be a strike three, batter out. The batter ended up walking and costing us a run. What is the correct call for this if he intentionally leaned in to be struck?

Thanks for an answer for what seems like a no brainer but I cannot find a rule.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 10:10pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by FutureUmp
Two Balls Two Strikes, ball hits batter in left elbow. PU says its a ball because he "leaned in" to intentionally get struck. I called time and asked for a repeat fo the call and he said same thing. I asked how could he call "ball" when batter was struck (his call, intentional) and that i thought it should be a strike three, batter out. The batter ended up walking and costing us a run. What is the correct call for this if he intentionally leaned in to be struck?

Thanks for an answer for what seems like a no brainer but I cannot find a rule.
If he leaned into the pitch intentionally, and it was in the strike zone, it would be strike three on a dead ball strike. If he intentionally leaned into a pitch that was not in the strike zone, it would be a ball, and the ball would be dead.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 10:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by FutureUmp
Two Balls Two Strikes, ball hits batter in left elbow. PU says its a ball because he "leaned in" to intentionally get struck. I called time and asked for a repeat fo the call and he said same thing. I asked how could he call "ball" when batter was struck (his call, intentional) and that i thought it should be a strike three, batter out. The batter ended up walking and costing us a run. What is the correct call for this if he intentionally leaned in to be struck?

Thanks for an answer for what seems like a no brainer but I cannot find a rule.
If the umpire ruled the batter "leaned" into the pitch, the ball is dead and he calls the pitch a ball or strike depending on the location as he would any other pitch. If it hit the batter's elbow he might have ruled that it was up, thus a ball, or it may have been in, thus a ball. He wouldn't call a strike unless the contact took place in the strike zone.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 10:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Uhhhh, Steve, Garth...I think you were supposed to be mean to him, weren't you? Is that not the policy?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 02, 2006, 05:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwwashburn
Uhhhh, Steve, Garth...I think you were supposed to be mean to him, weren't you? Is that not the policy?
You are absolutely jwwasburn!

Hey FutureUmp, what are you doing arguing balls & strikes? The PU called a ball so leave it at that! If you lost the game, it's because your team didn't get enough runs and that's not the PU's fault!

How's that jww?
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 02, 2006, 08:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900
You are absolutely jwwasburn!

Hey FutureUmp, what are you doing arguing balls & strikes? The PU called a ball so leave it at that! If you lost the game, it's because your team didn't get enough runs and that's not the PU's fault!

How's that jww?
That's better!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 02, 2006, 08:44am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
make sure you make the call firmly and sternly...because more than likely the offense will argue...especially if you call strike 3...make sure you stand by your call and "sell it".
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 02, 2006, 11:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to bobbybanaduck
Quote:
Originally Posted by FutureUmp
Two Balls Two Strikes, ball hits batter in left elbow. PU says its a ball because he "leaned in" to intentionally get struck. I called time and asked for a repeat fo the call and he said same thing. I asked how could he call "ball" when batter was struck (his call, intentional) and that i thought it should be a strike three, batter out. The batter ended up walking and costing us a run. What is the correct call for this if he intentionally leaned in to be struck?

Thanks for an answer for what seems like a no brainer but I cannot find a rule.
you called time??? i didn't know coaches had that ability in their job description. guess i learned something new today.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 03, 2006, 08:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 55
See Rule 12.06.(c)(2)

As pointed out by CoachJM in another post, this is covered under

"Rule 12.06

(c)(2) During the course of the game ONLY COACHES are allowed to make up rules which have no foundation in the text, official interpretations, or history of the rules. APPROVED RULING: While the umpire may, at his sole discretion, entertain discussion of such made up rules with the coach (strictly for the entertaiment value), there will be NO ENFORCEMENT of any such rules."

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 03, 2006, 08:57am
CJN CJN is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saltydog
As pointed out by CoachJM in another post, this is covered under

"Rule 12.06

(c)(2) During the course of the game ONLY COACHES are allowed to make up rules which have no foundation in the text, official interpretations, or history of the rules. APPROVED RULING: While the umpire may, at his sole discretion, entertain discussion of such made up rules with the coach (strictly for the entertaiment value), there will be NO ENFORCEMENT of any such rules."

No rules were made up by anyone in this sitch, so I don't think 12.06 applies. This sitch is really straightforward, if the pitch was a ball it's a ball, simple as that.
Nice try though.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 03, 2006, 05:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 236
Hmmmmmmmmmm ........................

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJN
No rules were made up by anyone in this sitch, so I don't think 12.06 applies. This sitch is really straightforward, if the pitch was a ball it's a ball, simple as that.
Nice try though.
I see CJN had that humor bypass surgery.




Doug
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 03, 2006, 05:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
I think 12.06 should be added to our list of abbreviations for sure. So much better to just say 12.06 then to get all upset over it and start a huge debate. Coach JM: good work. Now, I'll never say that again to a coach
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 04, 2006, 09:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbybanaduck
you called time??? i didn't know coaches had that ability in their job description. guess i learned something new today.
Jeez umps are as egotistical as I have heard, I didn't call time, soory for the incorrect syntax, I ASKED for time and the umpie was gracious enough to give it to me.....better Bannarama?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 04, 2006, 10:04pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by FutureUmp
Jeez umps are as egotistical as I have heard, I didn't call time, soory for the incorrect syntax, I ASKED for time and the umpire was gracious enough to give it to me.....better Bannarama?
It's kind of like the chirping from the coaches and the fans. If you can't stand the heat you will not be a good future ump.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 04, 2006, 10:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to bobbybanaduck
better? not really. the ball was dead when the batter got hit. time was already out. he wasn't gracious. he was probably laughing at you when you "called" time like i was when you wrote it in your post. and the ego comes with the territory. if i didn't have one, i'd get eaten alive by rats like you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1