The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
Umpire Interference/ CA CCS Final, Bellarmine vs. Valley Christian-San Jose

Folks,

I heard a radio news report concerning this game and I was wondering if anyone was there and saw it.

Bottom 7, tied game. Bellarmine has runners on 1st and 2nd. Shot up the middle HITS the umpire, runner from 2nd scores and all holy heck breaks out. Celebrations all over the field, and the host is setting up the trophy table.

Meanwhile, back on the field the blues are in conference. They call the teams back on the field, call the interference and place the runners back on base. Of course, the Bellarmine coach is ejected.

Next pitch is a passed ball, Bellarmine runner scores from third.

My question is, why did they let the play continue?
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.

Last edited by RPatrino; Mon May 29, 2006 at 06:32pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 07:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 760
Having been on the recieving end of one of those bullets, I can tell you that unless you are thinking about it prior, your thoughts are not on the game when you take a BB off the body. True, his partners should recognize that the ball was immediately dead, since the umpire was struck in front of an infield position player. But even with the advent of metal bats, this occurrence is rare. We are trained to move quickly and get out of the way.

I'll accept the fact that this was a big game and the crew was undoubtedly worthy of the assignment. Stuff happens...remember a certain uncaught third strike in the WS last year?
__________________
"You can tell whether a man is clever by his answers.
You can tell whether a man is wise by his questions.
~Naguib Mahfouz
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 07:22pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Shock at observing what just happened?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 07:25pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPatrino
Folks,

I heard a radio news report concerning this game and I was wondering if anyone was there and saw it.

Bottom 7, tied game. Bellarmine has runners on 1st and 2nd. Shot up the middle HITS the umpire, runner from 2nd scores and all holy heck breaks out. Celebrations all over the field, and the host is setting up the trophy table.

Meanwhile, back on the field the blues are in conference. They call the teams back on the field, call the interference and place the runners back on base. Of course, the Bellarmine coach is ejected.

Next pitch is a passed ball, Bellarmine runner scores from third.

My question is, why did they let the play continue?
Why do coaches act this way? This is CLEARLY a book situation that the umpires handled correctly, by rule.

Last edited by Rich; Mon May 29, 2006 at 08:42pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 07:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greater Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 611
Send a message via Yahoo to umpduck11
You can yell "dead ball" until you are hoarse, but that doesn't
always mean they'll stop play. Coaches know that you can send
them back, but you cannot move them up, as in a potential ground-
rule double situation. Therefore, they keep the runners moving.
__________________
All generalizations are bad. - R.H. Grenier
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 09:09pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpduck11
You can yell "dead ball" until you are hoarse, but that doesn't
always mean they'll stop play. Coaches know that you can send
them back, but you cannot move them up, as in a potential ground-
rule double situation. Therefore, they keep the runners moving.
I have only been hit working the middle once (in C), and it was by Tony Clark. It was a bullet that hit me in the right foot so fast I couldn't even move. I immediately killed the ball, which is the right call by rule. An umpire needs to have the presence of mind as to what to do if he gets hit by the ball.

Clark also almost took my head off working in "A" in another game. I guess perhaps he liked aiming at the umpires.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 09:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
I have to ask this. Is it possible that the umpires were accustomed to applying "string theory" on interference and the corners were playing in with R1 and R3?

If that's true, I could see how they could recognize post-incident that there was umpires interference.



Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 09:48pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
I have to ask this. Is it possible that the umpires were accustomed to applying "string theory" on interference and the corners were playing in with R1 and R3?

If that's true, I could see how they could recognize post-incident that there was umpires interference.
I doubt it, since there were R1 and R2.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 09:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpduck11
You can yell "dead ball" until you are hoarse, but that doesn't
always mean they'll stop play. Coaches know that you can send
them back, but you cannot move them up, as in a potential ground-
rule double situation. Therefore, they keep the runners moving.
"Time!" works better.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 10:16pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpduck11
You can yell "dead ball" until you are hoarse, but that doesn't
always mean they'll stop play. Coaches know that you can send
them back, but you cannot move them up, as in a potential ground-
rule double situation. Therefore, they keep the runners moving.
The coaches should know the rules too! The fact that the coach came unglued means that he didn't.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 10:42pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarthB
"Time!" works better.
And is correct.

I swear....I was working with a guy this year who, on a hit by pitch, shouted," DEAD BALL! TAKE YOUR BASE!"
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 10:58pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
I swear....I was working with a guy this year who, on a hit by pitch, shouted," DEAD BALL! TAKE YOUR BASE!"
And he was working the bases!!!
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 29, 2006, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
I doubt it, since there were R1 and R2.
So, I miss numbered the runners. That still doesn't address the possibility that they may have been initially prescribing to "string theory." It's entirely possible for F5 to be playing in and the BU, if in C position, was struck near that imaginary line.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 30, 2006, 01:25am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
So, I miss numbered the runners. That still doesn't address the possibility that they may have been initially prescribing to "string theory." It's entirely possible for F5 to be playing in and the BU, if in C position, was struck near that imaginary line.
It isn't that you misnumbered the runners, it's that you misplaced them. If they were working 3-man, with 1st and 2nd, U1 would be at short A, and U3 at short (normal) C, correct? With 1st and 3rd, U3 would be in deep C, and could very likely be behind that imaginary line, do you follow me here? With 1st and 2nd, no matter how far in F5 plays, he should still be behind U3 in a normal C position, which is where he should be, in order to cover a steal attempt of 3rd.

Either way though, I think the "string theory" angle is a bit of a stretch.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 30, 2006, 07:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
[QUOTE=RPatrino]Folks,

Of course, the Bellarmine coach is ejected.


Bob maybe there's more exposure these days, but it seems as though no matter what level, coaches go ballistic when something like this happens.

Coaches in the HS and Collegiate level should keep their cool and should take a lesson from Socia of the Angels.

During last year's bizzare play Socia handled the incident with class. He went out, said his peace with the umpiring crew and went back to the dugout. He didn't lambash the umpiring crew in the post game interview. He was upset but didn't loose his cool. He concentrated on the "REAL" issue, the Angels were not hitting.

It's time for both High Schools and Colleges to start handing down stiffer penalties to coaches who go ballistic. A suspension and a Substantial Fine. When a coach goes ballistic what is he teaching his players? If all that happens in one's life is an umpire interference call or a bad call for that matter, they should "thank their lucky stars"

In addition IMO, the metal bat has ruined the game. I myself set-up in a deeper "B" / "C" slot then I would normally do if the teams were using wood. I almost "bought the farm" one day because it's difficult to react to a shot off of a metal bat.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter intereference with catcher's throw Ran.D Softball 3 Tue Apr 25, 2006 08:46pm
Final Final Final List of Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules BillyMac Basketball 1 Fri Oct 14, 2005 11:23am
San Fran., San Jose, or Oakland area? lrpalmer3 Basketball 2 Mon May 02, 2005 09:56pm
San Fran/ San Jose area lrpalmer3 Basketball 2 Tue Feb 15, 2005 03:15am
Valley Baseball League wvblue Baseball 13 Fri Oct 20, 2000 02:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1