View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 17, 2006, 09:46am
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peruvian
I was listening to the Angels-Blue Jays game last night and late in the game Tim Salmom was at bat. I believe there was a 1-1 count on him, less than 2 outs. R1 steals second, but the plate umpire, Mike Winters, called batter interference on Salmon and sent the runner back to first. OK, so far, right?

But Winters didn't call Salmon out - he just sent R1 back to first. This is the second time in the last 3 or 4 years where BI was called at the Major League level and the batter remined at bat.

Did they just miss the ruling or am I missing something here? The announcers didn't even raise the question (I didn't see the play) and me and a buddy riding in the car were dumbfounded that Salmon wasn't called out.

Thoughts?
If the interference was via the batter's backswing then the call is correct.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote