The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 15, 2001, 08:05am
Gee Gee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally posted by jcor
I realize that if the ball is touched by the infielder then hits the runner you have no infraction. If the ball passes an infielder who does not touch it and strikes a runner, what determines whether or not an infraction has occurred?
Thanks.
-----------------------------------------------

In OBR the key word is "PASSED" The word passed means within five feet (reasonable chance) of the fielder, not including the pitcher.
(A touched {deflected} ball would include the pitcher).

If it hasn't passed the fielder within that range and then hits a runner he is dead out.

The point is that the offense must give the defense a reasonable chance to field the ball before they interfere. I have that ball protected to the outfield wall.

The FED rules differ. If you attach a string to all of the infielders, not including the pitcher, and the ball passes that string without touching a fielder and hits the runner he is not out and the ball is in play. G.

[Edited by Gee on Jul 15th, 2001 at 09:22 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1