The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 25, 2006, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 124
Ball Hits Umpire

Hi all,

I had a situation in a high school exhibition this past week. I wasn't actually umpiring, I was a spectator. There was a runner on third and a hard ground ball hit the base umpire who was working behind the pitcher. The play was called dead immediately and the umpire (after shaking it off), the batter was awarded first base and the runner at third was placed back at third.

I am 95% sure that the ball would have gone up the middle for a single had the interference not occured. Therefore, should the runner be awarded home? Does that matter?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 25, 2006, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Baseball North,

As described, this is a classic example of umpire interference. The ball is dead, the batter is awarded 1B, and any other runners return to their TOP base unless forced by the batter's award of 1B.

JM
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 25, 2006, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 124
OK - thanks. Appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 25, 2006, 08:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 301
Good luck on your level 3 exam. LOL
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 25, 2006, 09:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 260
5-1-1 in 2005 book and BR credited with single for you record keepers.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 25, 2006, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to ToGreySt
If an umpire playing behind an infielder, like a 2nd base umpire in 4 man, gets hit. what happens to the ball then? it stays live and the plays progresses as usual?

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 25, 2006, 10:40pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToGreySt
If an umpire playing behind an infielder, like a 2nd base umpire in 4 man, gets hit. what happens to the ball then? it stays live and the plays progresses as usual?

Joe
Yes. Same as in 2-man if the BU is working in A down 1st base line and gets hit.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball Hits Runner?????????????? slowballbaker Softball 7 Wed Aug 24, 2005 08:31am
Batted ball hits umpire WestMichBlue Softball 6 Sun Feb 13, 2005 04:02pm
ball hits top of bb in or out StevenW Basketball 4 Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:40am
batter hits ball after hits ground kfinucan Softball 13 Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm
Bat hits ball vs. Ball hits bat abergman Baseball 6 Mon Jul 16, 2001 07:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1