Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Apr 22, 2006, 07:17pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to fonzzy07
Coverage

hey guys,
I am a coach and just had a question, it came up in a game today. runner on first. groundball hit deep in the whole, shortstop gets it and throws to first, bang bang. They called my player out, as the unpire was correct the ball got to the base first, however the first baseman never had his foot on the bag. What umpire has that coverage? I believe the base ump was stationed inbetween 1st and 2nd so naturally he was sheilded so he could not see that the foot was infront of the base not on it. While I was angry I did not protest. I never protest ever. I ref basketball and know how hard it is to be in that position, and we all make mistakes, and most times its not the ump making the mistake its the coach not knowing the rules. Just woundering how you guys would have covered that so you coulda seen his foot was off the bag.
Old Sat Apr 22, 2006, 07:23pm

If the base umpire had any question whether or not the foot was on the base, he would normally ask the PU for help. Otherwise, it's his call all the way, so he probably ruled that the foot was on the base (or up against it, that is the same thing).

You could argue the call, but you could not have protested it, as it is a judgment call, and not subject to a protest.

If an umpire is uncertain of a call, only that umpire can go to the other for help, and that is suppossed to be prior to making the actual call.
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Old Sat Apr 22, 2006, 07:43pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by fonzzy07
hey guys,