![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Yes, BR should be declared out. The "rule reference": try the one that says: runner is out for passing an unobstructed preceeding runner [different #'s in different codes, but the language is there in all]. Silliness: 1: it just recently happened in a MLB game, and the runner was called out: JUST BY COINCIDENCE, it also just happened in a FED game where you "weren't there but got told by a fan"; and 2: "slightly passed"? ... kinda like "slightly" tagged [or pregnant], dontcha think? SHEESH! |
|
|||
Also note: new FED interp.
If this happens for the 3rd out, other runners will be allowed to continue and score. In OBR, it would be a time play. All runners that scored before the pass would score and others would not. |
|
|||
Actually, there may be something in that "slightly" passes. Envision two track stars - one "passes" the other, but they still overlap. This is not an out. The passing player must COMPLETELY pass the passed player for this to be an out.
One extreme example was brought up a couple of months back of the runners hugging each other and spinning... at no point was the entire body of the succeeding runner ahead of the entire body of the preceding runner... thus no out.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
Ha, you've got to be kidding me? Now we have "overlapping" players. There must be something, somewhere forbidding such nonsense!!! What's the world coming to.
Next we'll be having them joining hands and skipping around the bases, of course, never actually passing each other!! ( I must be getting stir crazy, I need back on the field) Bob P.
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
CB,
It is a silly question for most of us, but seeing as it was ddb's first post, ya think you could cut him just a little slack? I'm sure he had no idea of the wolves who were waiting to pounce upon his innocent query. ![]()
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
SITUATION 14: In the bottom of the seventh inning, the visiting team leads 6-4. With the bases loaded and two outs, the batter hits a grand slam home run over the left field fence. B6, in his excitement, passes R3, who started the play on first base. At the time B6 passed R3, only R1 had touched home plate. RULING: When a batter hits a home run, each runner on base is awarded four bases, or home. While B6 is out for passing an unobstructed preceding runner, his third out is not a force out since he had touched first base. Therefore, three runs will score and the home team will win, 7-6. (8-3-3a, 9-1-1) Tim. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Sorry to have insulted you CB with a silly question. I did not know a play such as this had just occurred in a MLB game, I guess it is just bad timing on my part. I agree that "slightly passed" is goofy but that was how it was described to me and I agree it is like being sort of pregnant.
I know the right call that should have made the instant the batter/runner "slightly passed" R1...The batter/runner would have been called out and R1 would have scored but my fan friend did not think my call was right. So, you are probably right about the question being a silly one but I just wanted to hear some other opinions about the "slightly passed" R1. The person who told me this said the batter/runner and R1 were about shoulder to shoulder and I told him the batter/runner is still out. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
OBS at home - how do you know? | WestMichiganBlue | Softball | 13 | Thu May 22, 2014 11:37pm |
I'm home | Adam | Basketball | 11 | Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:28pm |
Out on a home run? | mastdk96 | Softball | 9 | Thu May 26, 2005 04:37pm |
Between 3B & Home | dddunn3d | Baseball | 9 | Wed Apr 06, 2005 03:51pm |
tag play at home-catcher in baseline question | nfsx2417 | Baseball | 11 | Wed Mar 31, 2004 10:26pm |