The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 13, 2006, 09:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by :=)
In our game, a batter walked. On the 4th ball, it got past the catcher. On his way to the plate, our on-deck hitter picked up the passed ball and flipped it to the catcher. The umpire called him out for interference.

How does this get scored? Does the guy who picked up the ball get charged w/an AB? Where may I read about the rule(s) that would cover this play?

Thanks.
I'd suggest asking your umpire. If I read this right, it's ball 4, there's no play being made on a scoring runner, and the on-deck batter picked up the ball and flipped it to the catcher.

If this is a relaxed action situation, i.e., B/R is advancing to first, and there are no other plays going on , kill the ball and place the B/R on first. I'm hard pressed to find intereference here.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 13, 2006, 09:59pm
big big is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 65
Thumbs down

I agree with what maineblue said. Even it was intentional which it wasn’t the on deck person that picked up the ball could not have been called out because he had not taken his position in the batter’s box thus becoming the batter. If it had been intentional the batter would have been the one called out.

BTW… I believe that this would be a protestable call as the ump called the wrong guy out (No one should have been out. Either way protestable).
__________________
BIG!

BIG'S BLOG

Last edited by big; Thu Apr 13, 2006 at 10:31pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 13, 2006, 10:13pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Batter walked. He gets 1B. On deck batter interfered with a live ball. This does not change the fact that batter walked and is entitled to 1B. Award batter the bases he would have achieved absent the interference. In this case batter actually helped the defense. Batter is awarded 1B on the walk and nothing further. No way batter is out, he walked. On deck batter is not out either.

Last edited by DG; Thu Apr 13, 2006 at 10:16pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 13, 2006, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by big
I agree with what maineblue said. Even it was intentional which it wasn’t the on deck person that picked up the ball could not have been called out because he had not taken his position in the batter’s box thus becoming the batter. If it had been intentional the batter would have been the one called out.

BTW… I believe that this would be a protestable call as the ump called the wrong guy out.
The former batter is now a runner, not a batter.

6.04 A batter has legally completed his time at bat when he is put out or becomes a runner.

The on-deck guy is now the batter.

6.02 a) The batter shall take his position in the batter's box promptly when it is his time at bat. To do this, he must be the batter before he enters the box.

If he wasn't the batter until he entered the box, the umpire also couldn't order him to bat and call a directed strike because you can only order the batter to do that.


Per the BRD Section 48 the on deck batter becomes the batter when the previous batter reaches base or is put out - all codes.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Thu Apr 13, 2006 at 10:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 13, 2006, 10:47pm
big big is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 65
But if the batter had not reached 1st when the ump made the call than the on deck guy can not become the batter at that point and thus since he wasn't the legal batter he can't be called out.
__________________
BIG!

BIG'S BLOG
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 13, 2006, 11:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by big
But if the batter had not reached 1st when the ump made the call than the on deck guy can not become the batter at that point and thus since he wasn't the legal batter he can't be called out.
I was responding to your statement that said:

. . he had not taken his position in the batter’s box thus becoming the batter
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 14, 2006, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Don't you think a little common sense is appropriate here? This was a base on balls award where the ball was handled during relaxed action. The batter-runner advances to first without liability to be put out, so what play could have possibly been interfered with unless the batter-runner made an attempt to go to second. Had there been advance runners not forced I would agree that this could be interference. Even then, it sounds like the on deck batter assisted the cather by flipping the ball to him.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 14, 2006, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
OP is not getting his answer - but that is because the umpire did not make a proper call. We don't know how to score this, since it shouldn't have happened. But ... since it did happen, I suppose the only way to treat this would be the same way you might treat it if ODB did actually come to bat, and then interfere with a play before his AB was over. F2 gets a putout. ODB gets an AB.

Now back to the sitch... there is no rule by which you could call ODB out. Even though Rich's definitions are correct and make more accurate the post before his, the ODB is still not a batter in this sitch until the previous play has come to completion. He is merely a member of the offensive team that is legally on the field.

You can't have an out for interference unless someone interferes WITH A PLAY. There is no play here (yet). The ball is dead when he picks it up, obviously, so no play can eventually occur. Had BR rounded first on his way to 2nd prior to this ball being picked up, I can see a case for INT on an offensive player --- but it would be the RUNNER who would be called out. If there was an additional runner for which a play was possible (say someone else trying to advance on the PB), we could have INT - but again, it's the RUNNER who is out. ODB still comes to bat after either.

On this play (assuming no other advancing or in-jeopardy runners), I have dead-ball and nothing else. BR to first. ODB to the plate.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scoring question Rift Track & Field 4 Mon Jul 25, 2005 09:14am
Scoring question Clyde Baseball 4 Tue May 10, 2005 07:52pm
scoring question Chicken Softball 4 Mon Jun 21, 2004 01:11am
scoring question hunter57 Baseball 7 Mon Mar 15, 2004 02:38pm
Scoring Question. stowelaw Baseball 7 Mon Sep 23, 2002 01:38pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1