View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 13, 2006, 10:39pm
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by big
I agree with what maineblue said. Even it was intentional which it wasn’t the on deck person that picked up the ball could not have been called out because he had not taken his position in the batter’s box thus becoming the batter. If it had been intentional the batter would have been the one called out.

BTW… I believe that this would be a protestable call as the ump called the wrong guy out.
The former batter is now a runner, not a batter.

6.04 A batter has legally completed his time at bat when he is put out or becomes a runner.

The on-deck guy is now the batter.

6.02 a) The batter shall take his position in the batter's box promptly when it is his time at bat. To do this, he must be the batter before he enters the box.

If he wasn't the batter until he entered the box, the umpire also couldn't order him to bat and call a directed strike because you can only order the batter to do that.


Per the BRD Section 48 the on deck batter becomes the batter when the previous batter reaches base or is put out - all codes.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Thu Apr 13, 2006 at 10:43pm.
Reply With Quote