![]() |
|
|
|||
Scoring Question
In our game, a batter walked. On the 4th ball, it got past the catcher. On his way to the plate, our on-deck hitter picked up the passed ball and flipped it to the catcher. The umpire called him out for interference.
How does this get scored? Does the guy who picked up the ball get charged w/an AB? ![]() Thanks. |
|
|||
Quote:
If this is a relaxed action situation, i.e., B/R is advancing to first, and there are no other plays going on , kill the ball and place the B/R on first. I'm hard pressed to find intereference here. |
|
|||
![]()
I agree with what maineblue said. Even it was intentional which it wasn’t the on deck person that picked up the ball could not have been called out because he had not taken his position in the batter’s box thus becoming the batter. If it had been intentional the batter would have been the one called out.
BTW… I believe that this would be a protestable call as the ump called the wrong guy out (No one should have been out. Either way protestable). Last edited by big; Thu Apr 13, 2006 at 10:31pm. |
|
|||
Batter walked. He gets 1B. On deck batter interfered with a live ball. This does not change the fact that batter walked and is entitled to 1B. Award batter the bases he would have achieved absent the interference. In this case batter actually helped the defense. Batter is awarded 1B on the walk and nothing further. No way batter is out, he walked. On deck batter is not out either.
Last edited by DG; Thu Apr 13, 2006 at 10:16pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
6.04 A batter has legally completed his time at bat when he is put out or becomes a runner. The on-deck guy is now the batter. 6.02 a) The batter shall take his position in the batter's box promptly when it is his time at bat. To do this, he must be the batter before he enters the box. If he wasn't the batter until he entered the box, the umpire also couldn't order him to bat and call a directed strike because you can only order the batter to do that. Per the BRD Section 48 the on deck batter becomes the batter when the previous batter reaches base or is put out - all codes.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong Last edited by Rich Ives; Thu Apr 13, 2006 at 10:43pm. |
|
|||
But if the batter had not reached 1st when the ump made the call than the on deck guy can not become the batter at that point and thus since he wasn't the legal batter he can't be called out.
|
|
|||
Quote:
. . he had not taken his position in the batter’s box thus becoming the batter
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't think FED has this kind of "interference", but I'd look to make the same ruling. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Scoring question | Rift | Track & Field | 4 | Mon Jul 25, 2005 09:14am |
Scoring question | Clyde | Baseball | 4 | Tue May 10, 2005 07:52pm |
scoring question | Chicken | Softball | 4 | Mon Jun 21, 2004 01:11am |
scoring question | hunter57 | Baseball | 7 | Mon Mar 15, 2004 02:38pm |
Scoring Question. | stowelaw | Baseball | 7 | Mon Sep 23, 2002 01:38pm |